Young Europeans Award

Location: Germany, France, Poland

Time frame: ongoing, since 2015

Project Partners: Franco-German Youth Office (DFJW/OFAJ), German-Polish Youth Office (DPJW/PNWM), Fondation Hippocrène, Foundation for Polish-German Cooperation

“Europe isn't an abstract idea, it's a daily experience!”
The Young Europeans Award is a trilateral contest that encourages dialogue and exchange between young people from Germany, France and Poland who are motivated to work together to shape a vibrant and future-oriented Europe. In the spirit of the “European Neighborhood Policy”, each edition of the contest invites a fourth non-EU guest country. For 2015-2016, that country was Ukraine.

Young people under the age of 21 from Germany, France, Poland and the guest country  may take part in the Young Europeans Award with a group project on the designated competition question. Winners are awarded a trip to Brussels. The 2015-2016 competition question was “How far does Europe reach?”

Contest submissions are reviewed and evaluated by an international jury consisting of:

  • Volker Schlöndorf (director, screenwriter and producer, DE), President of the Jury
  • Anna Radwan (President of the Polish Robert Schumann Foundation, PL)
  • Nora Hamadi (artist, author and film maker, FR)
  • Antione Godbert (former Director of the French “Erasmus +” - Education and Training Agency, FR)

All three Foreign Ministers of the Weimar Triangle partner countries are Official patrons of the Young Europeans Award. The YEA is a joint initiative of the Allianz Kulturstiftung, the Fondation Hippocrène, the Foundation for German-Polish Cooperation, the German-Polish Youth Office and the Franco-German Youth Office.

Mehr Informationen
The Young Europeans Award 2016 went to the project "The colorful face of Europe"!

Find out here how you can apply for the Young Europeans Award!

Previous Competitions

  • Young Europeans Award 2016

Young Europeans Award 2016

“European culture has no borders” – the winners of the 2016 Young Europeans Award “How far does Europe reach?” were announced in April 2016.
Students aged 14 to 16 from the German Gabriele-von-Bülow-Gymnasium in Berlin, the French Collège Pierre Falanc in Belèves, the Polish Szkoła Podstawowa Zespołu Szkół im. Królowej Jadwigi in Jerzykowo and the Ukranian Melitopolska spetsializovana shkola-internat III stupenya “Tvorchist” ZOR in Melitopol', Zaporiz'ka Oblast  participated in the Young Europeans Award with a group project on the theme question “How far does Europe reach?” and won a trip to the European institutions in Brussels. In their project “The colourful face of Europe”, the teenagers studied stories of migration in their own families as a way to better understand current migration-related issues in Europe.

The award ceremony was held in Brussels on 20 September 2016, with all three European Ministers from the Weimar Triangle in attendance