Under the motto WE ARE HERE!, the 2nd Roma Biennale will develop the vision of deep solidarity in a radically diverse and just society. In five chapters, on the occasion of five different anniversaries related to the history and present reality of Romani people, 50 artists will explore five different aspects of BEING HERE from the perspective of the racialised, oppressed and marginalised: self-confession, resistance and resilience, survival, commemoration and, finally, the very fact of existence. The Biennale will feature a public poster campaign, online and open-air events as well as interventions in public spaces over the course of almost eight months.

The ongoing pandemic makes inequalities in wealth, political and social power relations and chances to survive even more visible and urgent than before, and those who were already living precariously before the pandemic are now often on the brink of survival. At the same time, Germany and Europe fail again and again to combat right-wing extremist structures within and outside the state system. Romani people, Black, Jewish, queer communities and People of Colour, especially women, are not sufficiently protected, as the right-wing terrorist murderers of Halle and Hanau showed in 2020. So the motto is: WE ARE HERE! – despite colonialism and its continuation in so-called race studies, despite National Socialism and genocides, and despite today’s antigypsyism, antisemitism and racism.

Art is not a luxury good. Especially in pandemic times and in view of the many crises in the world, culture is more necessary than ever. Art represents an opportunity for self-empowerment and solidarity with all those who are not granted security and who are excluded from participation in essential resources or are even prevented from being here by deportations. The 2nd Roma Biennale WE ARE HERE! is therefore anti-institutional, anti-elitist and participatory. It is accessible to everyone so that they can experience it in public space and online, take it home and, above all, spread it in their own neighbourhood.

Art posters will be displayed on billboards and poster sites, in shop windows and all over the urban space, they will be available to take away in bookshops, cafés, community shops and galleries, but also online for viewing and downloading worldwide.  In addition to the poster gallery, the website  offers a range of other artworks, such as video artworks, songs and texts to accompany the poster campaign.

Unter dem Motto WE ARE HERE! entwickelt die 2. Roma-Biennale  die Vision einer zutiefst solidarischen, radikal diversen und gerechten Gesellschaft. In fünf Kapiteln, anlässlich fünf verschiedener Jahrestage, die mit der Geschichte und Gegenwart der Roma* und Sinti* zusammenhängen, setzen sich 50 Künstler*innen mit fünf verschiedenen Aspekten des HIER SEINS aus der Perspektive der Rassifizierten, Unterdrückten und Marginalisierten: Selbstbekenntnis, Widerstand und Resilienz, Überleben, Erinnerung und schließlich die eigentliche Tatsache der Existenz. Die Biennale-Kampagne umfasst eine Plakatgalerie, online- und Open-Air-Veranstaltungen sowie Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum in Berlin über einen Zeitraum von knapp acht Monaten.

Die anhaltende Pandemie macht die Unterschiede in Bezug auf Wohlstand, politische und soziale Machtverhältnisse und (Über-)Lebenschancen noch sichtbarer und dringlicher als zuvor und diejenigen, die schon vor der Pandemie prekär lebten, stehen nun oft am Rande des Überlebens. Gleichzeitig versagen Deutschland und Europa immer wieder bei der Bekämpfung rechtsextremer Strukturen innerhalb und außerhalb des staatlichen Systems. Roma* und Sinti*, Schwarze, jüdische, queere Communities und People of Color, insbesondere Frauen, werden nicht ausreichend geschützt, wie 2020 nicht zuletzt die rechtsterroristischen Mörder von Halle und Hanau gezeigt haben. Also ist das Motto: WIR HIER SIND – trotz dem Kolonialismus und seinen Kontinuitäten in der sog. Rassenkunde, trotz dem Nationalsozialismus und der Genozide, und trotz dem heutigen Antiziganismus, Antisemitismus und Rassismus.

Kunst ist kein Luxusgut. Insbesondere in der Pandemiezeit und angesichts der vielen Krisen auf der Welt ist Kultur notwendiger denn je. Sie stellt eine Chance auf Selbstermächtigung und Solidarität mit allen, denen keine Sicherheit zugestanden wird, und die von der Teilhabe an lebensnotwendigen Ressourcen ausgegrenzt werden oder durch Abschiebungen gar daran gehindert werden, hier zu sein. Die 2. Roma-Biennale WE ARE HERE! ist deswegen antiinstitutionell, antielitär und partizipativ. Sie ist für jede*n zugänglich, um sie im öffentlichen Raum und online zu erfahren, mit nach Hause zu nehmen und vor allem im eigenen Kiez zu verbreiten.

Neben der Plakatgalerie bietet die Website eine Reihe weiterer Kunstwerke an, wie z.B. Videokunstwerke, Songs und Texte, die die Plakatkampagne begleiten.