Who: Savvy Contemporary

Where: Berlin, Istanbul, Milan, Paris

When: 01.08.2020 - 31.12.2021 

With: 
R22 Tout-Monde (with Ateliers Medicis in Clichy/Montfermeil, Un Lieu Pour Respirer in Les Lilas, Rester & Étranger in Saint-Denis)
Arşivden Sonra? / After the Archive?  (Istanbul)
Archive Books (Mailand)

A major challenge of subjugated communities is the question of their archives and processes of archiving. Fragile and under threat, most of their experiences, memories and histories are not featured in narratives of the future.

But these Archives – the fragile, vulnerable ones we are addressing here – are not silent per se. They do have a voice, but one that can be silenced. They do have a voice, but one whose potent airing might not be listened to, as the issue is not whether or not the subaltern is able to speak, but whether or not anybody is listening, to paraphrase Seloua Luste Boulbina. Power plays a role here, as “archival power is, in part, the power to allow voices to be heard” 

In the Vulnerable Archives project, Savvy Contemporary collaborate with archives and organizations that engage in strategies of alternative historiography, dissent, self-organization, and participation through practical solidarity. They form alliances to develop tools that strengthen strategies of speaking and spaces of listening. The project understands vulnerability as a method that has the potential to continuously open up new sources of knowledge.

 

 

Enigma#59: Roman
A Retrospective by Bili Bidjocka 
Exhibition in Savvy Contemporary in the framework of Berlin Art Week.
16.09. – 31.10.2021

Is Bili Bidjocka a visual artist? He clearly has writers’ envy. Or maybe he does something writers can’t do? Words in art are things, not units of meaning. The writing on the wall becomes image, and functions differently from, let’s say, the semantic apparatus of a novel. However, Bidjocka flirts with the idea that the (subliminal) meaning in those images convey an enigma. 

The exhibition holds the promise of sovereign indifference to instrumental (practical, functional, political and economic) reason. As a consequence, the exhibition directs its opposition against the exhausting demand for ›meaning‹ and the incessant flow of communicative action and exuberant performativity, towards a via negativa of discomfort and loss, creating a recalcitrant space of subjective and fictional symbolic acts.


INVOCATIONS  

Public programme of readings, conversations, performances, music, screenings at Savvy Contemporary
17.09.–18.09.2021


Since 2020, the work of VULNERABLE ARCHIVES has been taking place in Germany with research partners and communities in Turkey, Italy, and France. The project partners have aimed to build dialogues among the communities that have been silenced and denied from archival practices to shed light on the overlooked efforts and unconventional ways of storing collective memories. In September 2021, Savvy Contemporary invites you to an exhibition by Bili Bidjocka, and an INVOCATIONS programme – both highlighting the importance of artistic practices as a transformative force as the culmination of year-long dispersed events. The programme aims at enhancing archival networks and infrastructures through workshops, readings, discussions, performances, screenings and more.

Wer: Savvy Contemporary

Wo: Berlin, Istanbul, Milan, Paris

Wann: 01.08.2020 - 31.12.2021 

Mit wem: 
R22 Tout-Monde  (mit Ateliers Medicis in Clichy/Montfermeil, Un Lieu Pour Respirer in Les Lilas, Rester und Étranger in Saint-Denis)
Arşivden Sonra? / After the Archive?  (Istanbul)
Archive Books (Mailand)

 

Eine große Herausforderung für unterdrückte und diskrimineirte Gemeinschaften ist die Frage nach ihren Archiven und Archivierungsprozessen. Da sie fragil und bedroht sind, werden die meisten ihrer Erfahrungen, Erinnerungen und Geschichten in den Erzählungen über die Zukunft nicht berücksichtigt.

Aber diese Archive - die zerbrechlichen, verletzlichen, um die es hier geht - sind nicht per se still. Sie haben zwar eine Stimme, aber eine, die zum Schweigen gebracht werden kann. Sie haben eine Stimme, aber eine, deren kraftvolle Äußerungen vielleicht nicht gehört werden, da es nicht darum geht, ob die Subalternen sprechen können oder nicht, sondern darum, ob jemand zuhört oder nicht, um es mit Seloua Luste Boulbina zu sagen. Macht spielt hier eine Rolle, denn "die Macht der Archive ist zum Teil die Macht, den Stimmen Gehör zu verschaffen". 

In dem Projekt Vulnerable Archives arbeitet das Savvy Contemporary mit Archiven und Organisationen zusammen, die sich mit Strategien von alternativer Geschichtsschreibung, des Dissens, der Selbstorganisation und Partizipation mittels praktischer Solidarität befassen. Sie gehen Allianzen ein, um Instrumente zu entwickeln, die Strategien des Sprechens und Räume des Zuhörens stärken. Das Projekt versteht Verletzlichkeit als eine Methode, die das Potenzial hat, kontinuierlich neue Wissensquellen zu erschließen.

Enigma#59: Roman
Eine Retrospektive von Bili Bidjocka 
Ausstellung im Savvy Contemporary, im Rahmen der  Berlin Art Week
von 16.09. – 31.10.2021

Ist Bili Bidjocka ein bildender Künstler? Er ist eindeutig neidisch auf die Schriftsteller:innen. Oder macht er vielleicht etwas, was Schriftsteller:innen nicht können? Worte in der Kunst sind Dinge, keine Bedeutungseinheiten. Die Schrift an der Wand wird zum Bild und funktioniert anders als, sagen wir, der semantische Apparat eines Romans. Dennoch kokettiert Bidjocka mit der Idee, dass die (unterschwellige) Bedeutung in diesen Bildern ein Rätsel darstellt. 

Die Ausstellung verspricht eine souveräne Gleichgültigkeit gegenüber der instrumentellen (praktischen, funktionalen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen) Vernunft. Folglich richtet die Ausstellung ihren Widerstand gegen die erschöpfende Forderung nach ›Bedeutung‹ und den unaufhörlichen Strom kommunikativer Aktivitäten und überbordender Performativität hin zu einer Via Negativa des Unbehagens und des Verlusts, indem sie einen widerspenstigen Raum subjektiver und fiktionaler symbolischer Akte schafft.


INVOCATIONS  

Öffentliches Programm mit Lesungen, Gesprächen, Performances, Musik und Filmen im Savvy Contemporary
von 17.09.–18.09.2021

Seit 2020 findet die Arbeit von VULNERABLE ARCHIVES in Deutschland mit Forschungspartner*innen und Communities in der Türkei, Italien und Frankreich statt. Die Projektpartner*innen haben sich zum Ziel gesetzt, einen Dialog zwischen Communities aufzubauen, die zum Schweigen gebracht und von der Archivierungspraxis ausgeschlossen wurden, um die übersehenen Anstrengungen und unkonventionellen Wege der Archivierung kollektiver Erinnerungen zu beleuchten. Im September 2021 laden wir Sie zu einem INVOCATIONS-Programm, dass den Abschluss der über das Jahr verteilt stattfindenden Veranstaltungsreihe darstellt. Das Programm zielt darauf ab, Archivnetzwerke und -infrastrukturen durch Workshops, Lesungen, Diskussionen, Performances, Filmvorführungen und mehr zu stärken.