© Anna Vörös

TV Free Europe

 Who: Pneuma Szöv.

Where: Szombathely, Budapest (HU), Nova Gorica (SLO), Oberwart (AT), Leipzig (GER), Copenhagen (DK)

When: 02.2020 - 03.2021

With: University of Nova Gorica
Offenes Haus Oberwart
UT Connewitz
Festival Tarnby Torv

30 years after Radio Free Europe influenced and transmitted the fall of the Iron Curtain, the Budapest-based art collective Pneuma Szöv with partners from five countries explores buried hopes and potentials of freedom of speech today. 

One of the main demands of active citizens in Central and Eastern Europe in the late 1980s was the right for information and a democratic public sphere. In 2020 we face a narrowing public sphere with increasing restrictions on the freedom of the press, assembly and expression in many European countries and beyond. 

TV Free Europe reacts to these trends by asking questions: are today’s narratives of “change” able to tackle the social and environmental crisis we live in? Hasn’t mass media become, instead of being a source of information for all, a key to separating people into social bubbles? 

TV Free Europe imagines theatre as a free channel between people, a satirical alternative to mass media. It transcends social bubbles and connects voices, locations, times and stories, historical topics with today’s and tomorrow's facts and fictions. It provides the joyful experience of “making TV” together through a series of practical research actions (many of them on the street), public video shootings involving people with and without lived experience of system change and theatrical late night shows. The collected material will be published via a video channel, a homepage and printed zines.

TV Free Europe

 Wer: Pneuma Szöv.

Wo: Szombathely, Budapest (HU), Nova Gorica (SLO), Oberwart (AT), Leipzig (GER), Copenhagen (DK)

Wann: 02.2020 - 03.2021

Mit: University of Nova Gorica
Offenes Haus Oberwart
UT Connewitz
Festival Tarnby Torv

30 Jahre nachdem Radio Free Europe den Fall des Eisernen Vorhangs begleitete, erforscht das in Budapest ansässige Kunstkollektiv Pneuma Szöv. mit Partnern aus 5 Ländern den Zustand der heutigen Meinungsfreiheit.

Eine der Hauptforderungen der aktiven Bürger in Mittel- und Osteuropa Ende der 80er Jahre war das Recht auf Information und eine demokratische Öffentlichkeit. Im Jahr 2020 sehen wir uns einer sich verengenden Öffentlichkeit mit zunehmenden Einschränkungen der Presse-, Versammlungs- und Meinungsfreiheit in vielen europäischen Ländern und darüber hinaus gegenüber. 

TV Free Europe reagiert auf diese Trends mit Fragen: Sind die heutigen Narrative des "Wandels" in der Lage, die soziale und ökologische Krise, in der wir leben, zu bewältigen? Sind die Massenmedien – anstatt Informationsquelle für alle  - zu einer Technik geworden,  um Menschen in soziale Bubbles zu spalten? 

TV Free Europe stellt sich das Theater als freien Kanal zwischen den Menschen vor, eine satirische Alternative zu den Massenmedien. Es überschreitet soziale Blasen und verbindet Stimmen, Orte, Zeiten und Geschichten, historische Themen mit heutigen und zukünftigen Fakten und Fiktionen. Es ermöglicht die Freude des gemeinsamen "Fernsehmachens" durch eine Reihe praktischer Forschungsaktionen (viele davon auf der Straße), öffentliche Videodrehs, an denen Menschen mit und ohne gelebte Erfahrung des Systemwechsels beteiligt sind, und theatralische Late Night Shows. Das gesammelte Material wird auf einem Videokanal, einer Homepage und in gedruckten Zines veröffentlicht. 

TV Free Europe wurde von der in Budapest ansässigen Künstlerkooperative Pneuma Szöv. und KÖME - Verband der Kulturerbe-Manager - initiiert.