Who: ECCHR - European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights

Where: Online, Berlin, New York, London 

When: 2020 - 2021

Guests: 
Magnum Foundation
Forensic Architecture
and more

Design and development: 
metasphere

Many artists, activists and lawyers defend social justice with their specific discourses and media. Only through the complementary interplay of different voices can one actively intervene in systems. After all, social and human rights discourses cannot be considered separately.

The basis, or rather the "working materials", are recorded conversations between artists and lawyers. These conversations will not be published as closed, monolithic "podcast episodes" - but will be made "readable" using machine learning-based technology. The visualization will be published on a website and will provide an interface for accessing all audio recordings thus provided. Viewers/listeners will be able to follow non-linearly and purposefully those parts of the conversation they find most interesting and contextualize them, thus finding a personal path through the conversations.

The project is carried out by the European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR), a non-profit and independent human rights organization in Berlin that works with victims and partners to confront injustice.

Wer:ECCHR - European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights

Wo: Online, Berlin, New York, London

Wann: 2020 - 2021

Gäste: 
Magnum Foundation
Forensic Architecture
und weitere

Design und Entwicklung:
metasphere

Viele Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen und Jurist*innen tragen mit ihren spezifischen Diskursen und Medien  zu mehr sozialer Gerechtigkeit bei. Nur durch das komplementierende Zusammenspiel unterschiedlicher Stimmen kann man aktiv in Systeme eingreifen. Denn gesellschaftliche und menschenrechtliche Diskurse können nicht getrennt voneinander betrachtet werden.

Grundlage oder besser gesagt „Arbeitsmaterial“ sind dabei aufgezeichnete Gespräche zwischen Kulturschaffenden und Jurist*innen. Diese Gespräche werden nicht als abgeschlossene, monolithische „Podcast Episoden“ veröffentlicht –  sondern auf machine learning basierter Technologie "mit-lesbar“ gemacht.  Die Visualisierung wird auf einer Website veröffentlicht werden und bietet eine Oberfläche zum Zugriff auf alle so aufgeteilten Audiomitschnitte. Die Betrachter*innen/Hörer*innen können non-linear und zielgerichtet diejenigen Teile der Konversation nachvollziehen und miteinander in Kontext bringen, die sie am interessantesten finden. Und so einen persönlichen Weg durch die Konversationen finden.

Getragen wird das Projekt vom European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR), einer gemeinnützigen und unabhängigen Menschenrechtsorganisation in Berlin, die sich gemeinsam mit Betroffenen und Partner*innen dem Unrecht entgegen stellt.