© Photo by Jason Rosewell on Unsplash

Who: Are We Europe & The Europeans

Where: European-wide & online

When: 2021-2022

Discover the current "Call for Stories" 

here

This Is What A Generation Sounds Like offers eight young Europeans the opportunity to develop podcast episodes telling their stories from their part of Europe. The participants will not be expected to have previous audio experience. The experienced producers of Are We Europe & The Europeans will mentor them in using audio to explore pressing social and political issues, whether in their village, region, or Europe at large.

These episodes explore the continent’s major problems, from homophobia to the dismantling of democracy, as well as potential solutions. These sound-rich, beautifully produced audio stories will be turned into innovative and immersive “visual” podcasts, combining Are We Europe’s cutting-edge design skills with The Europeans’ audio expertise.

Are We Europe and The Europeans are two of the few cross-continental outlets that reach beyond the Brussels bubble and are actually popular with Europeans under 35 across the continent. They see this project as an opportunity to nurture pan-European solidarity, and crucially, to expose Europe’s next generation to each other's perspectives and lived experiences. As Europe continues to struggle with the social and economic fallout of Covid-19, This Is What A Generation Sounds Like offers a pandemic-proof space for creative expression at a time when Europe’s young are bearing the brunt of a pandemic-induced mental health crisis. Each piece will be simultaneously published on the Are We Europe website as multimedia stories and as audio-only podcasts in The Europeans’ popular feed.

© Photo by Jason Rosewell on Unsplash

Wer: Are We Europe & The Europeans

Wo: Europaweit und digital

Wann: 2021-2022

Entdecken Sie den aktuellen  "Call for Stories"

hier

This Is What A Generation Sounds Like bietet acht jungen Europäer*innen die Möglichkeit, Podcast-Episoden zu entwickeln, die ihre Geschichten aus ihrem Teil Europas erzählen. Von den Storyteller*innen wird nicht erwartet, dass sie bereits Erfahrung haben. Die erfahrenen Produzent*innen von Are We Europe & The Europeans werden sie dabei anleiten, drängende soziale und politische Themen zu erforschen, sei es in ihrem Dorf, in ihrer Region oder in Europa insgesamt.

Die Episoden befassen sich mit den aktuellen Herausfordeurngen des Kontinents, von Homophobie bis zum Abbau der Demokratie, sowie mit Lösungsansätzen. Diese klangvollen, liebevoll produzierten Audiogeschichten werden in innovative und immersive "visuelle" Podcasts verwandelt, die die Designfähigkeiten von Are We Europe mit der Audioexpertise von The Europeans kombinieren.

Are We Europe und The Europeans sind zwei der wenigen europäischen Medien, die über die Brüsseler Blase hinausreichen und tatsächlich bei Europäer*innen unter 35 Jahren auf dem ganzen Kontinent beliebt sind. Sie sehen dieses Projekt als eine Gelegenheit, die paneuropäische Solidarität zu fördern und vor allem die nächste Generation Europas mit den Perspektiven und Erfahrungen der anderen vertraut zu machen. Während Europa weiterhin mit den sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Folgen von Covid-19 zu kämpfen hat, bietet This Is What A Generation Sounds Like einen pandemiesicheren Raum für kreativen Ausdruck in einer Zeit, in der Europas Jugend die Hauptlast einer pandemiebedingten psychischen Gesundheitskrise trägt. Jede Produktion wird gleichzeitig auf der Are We Europe-Website als Multimedia-Geschichten und als reine Audio-Podcasts im beliebten Feed von The Europeans  veröffentlicht.