© Clarote

Who: Kampnagel

Where: Hamburg & Online

When: 13 - 15 August & 20 - 22 August 2021

With Who: Musea Mami, Coding Rights, transfeministtech.org, Indigenous AIZKM Karlsruhe, Alfaisal University Riad, HKS Ottersberg, KAUST University, Kunstverein in Hamburg, Zayed University of AI Abu Dhabi, ZHDK Zurich

The thematic focus The Future of Code Politics at the International Kampnagel Summer Festival combines two three-day events: the eponymous conference (13 – 15 August 2021) will discuss new visions of the future of artificial intelligence, algorithms and coding from decolonial and feminist perspectives. The artistic hackathon Super Artistic AI Factory (20 – 22 August 2021) will explore the potential of artificial intelligence for artistic practice.

The three-day programme highlights new perspectives on technologies and their socio-political implications: the debate about artificial intelligence, codes and algorithmic systems in Europe usually centres on questions of efficiency and technical progressiveness – we rarely talk about resilience and sustainability. At the same time, it is not only since the pandemic that we realize that these technologies have a massive impact on social systems, policies, societal processes and our coexistence as communities. They create new realities and entrench old structures that we thought had long been abolished. Technologies, it is now well known, can discriminate; they have ecological costs; they are entrenched in (neo-)colonial structures, and the monopoly of power over our data lies with big tech companies. These technologies form infrastructures that shape our lives for the future and determine the conditions of our societies in the long run.

Therefore, the Future of Code Politics now focuses on protagonists who critically deal with these opaque structures, from frequently marginalized perspectives. The invited speakers and artists work on the decolonization of technologies and on transfeminist versions of the future, pointing out the social and planetary costs of the technological infrastructures that surround us every day.

CONCEPT & CURATORS Lorena Jaume-Palasí, Lena Kollender, Fiona Krakenbürger

IN ZUSAMMENARBEIT MIT Lucía Egaña Rojas (Musea M.A.M.I.), Suzanne Kite (Indigenous AI), Joana Varon (CodingRights)

MEHR INFORMATIONEN UND DAS KOMPLETTE PROGRAMM HIER

With his surprising projects, Hamburg-based artist Christoph Faulhaber is always advancing interesting social and artistic debates. His latest work focuses on the much-discussed topic of artificial intelligence (AI) and artistic production - in the context of AI's ability to create new worlds on its own and thus leave behind long-established definitions of the relationship between work and authorship. Faulhaber brings together artists from various disciplines with programmers via a worldwide call for entries and a network of international partner institutions. Together they will create artistic works with the help of artificial intelligence at a hybrid hackathon that will take place simultaneously at various locations around the world. Following the hackathon, the completed digital works will be on display at the Hertz Lab at the ZKM in Karlsruhe, among other places.

IN KOOPERATION MIT King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Artificial Intelligence Research Center Hamburg (ARIC), ZKM, Hertz-Labor, 1. KI-Biennale Essen 2022, ZHdK Zürich, Hochschule der Künste im Sozialen Ottersberg (HKS).

© Clarote
Der Themenschwerpunkt The Future of Code Politics  auf dem Internationalen Sommerfestival Kampnagel verbindet zwei dreitägige Events: Vom 13. - 15.08.2021 werden auf der Konferenz The Future of Code Politics neue Zukunftsvisionen von Künstlicher Intelligenz, Algorithmen und Codes aus dekolonialer, feministischer Perspektive diskutiert. Vom 20. - 22. August 2021 erforscht der künstlerischen Hackathon Super Artistic AI Factory von Christoph Faulhaber das Potenzial von künstlicher Intelligenz für die künstlerische Praxis.

The Future of Code Politics ist ein dreitägiges Programm zu neuen Perspektiven auf Technologien und ihre gesellschaftspolitischen Auswirkungen: Im Mittelpunkt der Debatte um Künstliche Intelligenz, Codes und algorithmische Systeme stehen in Europa meist Fragen nach Effizienz und technischem Fortschritt – selten geht es um Resilienz und Nachhaltigkeit. Aber der Einfluss neuer Technologien auf soziale Systeme, Politiken, gesellschaftliche Prozesse und unser Zusammenleben nicht erst seit der Pandemie massiv. Technologien schaffen neue Realitäten und verfestigen Strukturen, die längst abgeschafft zu sein schienen. Sie können diskriminieren, haben ökologische Folgen, sind in neo-kolonialen Strukturen verankert, und das Machtmonopol über unsere Daten liegt bei großen Tech-Firmen. Diese Technologien bilden dabei aber Infrastrukturen, die unser Leben für die Zukunft ordnen und die Bedingungen unseres Zusammenlebens nachhaltig bestimmen.

The Future of Code Politics stellt darum jetzt Protagonist*innen in den Mittelpunkt, die sich genau mit diesen, für Laien oft undurchsichtigen, Strukturen kritisch und aus oft marginalisierten Perspektiven auseinandersetzen. Die eingeladenen Speaker*innen und Künstler*innen arbeiten an der Dekolonisierung von Technologien und an transfeministischen Zukunftsvisionen, und sie zeigen die gesellschaftlichen und planetaren Kosten der technologischen Infrastruktur unserer täglichen Umgebung auf. 

KONZEPT & KURATION Lorena Jaume-Palasí, Lena Kollender, Fiona Krakenbürger IN ZUSAMMENARBEIT MIT Lucía Egaña Rojas (Musea M.A.M.I.), Suzanne Kite (Indigenous AI), Joana Varon (CodingRights)

MEHR INFORMATIONEN UND DAS KOMPLETTE PROGRAMM HIER

Mit seinen überraschenden Aktionen treibt der Hamburger Künstler Christoph Faulhaber immer wieder interessante gesellschaftliche und künstlerische Debatten voran. Seine neuste Aktion beschäftigt sich mit dem viel diskutierten Themenkomplex der künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) und mit künstlerischer Produktion – vor dem Hintergrund,  dass KI selbstständig neue Welten schaffen kann und damit altgediente Definitionen des Verhältnis von Werk und Autor*innenschaft vollkommen hinter sich lässt. Faulhaber bringt per weltweiter Ausschreibung und mit einem Netzwerk internationaler Partner-Institutionen Künstler*innen aus verschiedenen Disziplinen mit Programmierer*innen zusammen, die gemeinsam auf einem hybriden und weltweit an unterschiedlichen Orten zeitgleich stattfindenden Hackathon künstlerische Arbeiten mit Hilfe von künstlicher Intelligenz kreieren. Im Anschluss an den Hackathon werden die fertigen digitalen Arbeiten u.a. im Hertz-Labor des ZKM in Karlsruhe zu sehen sein.

IN KOOPERATION MIT King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Artificial Intelligence Research Center Hamburg (ARIC), ZKM, Hertz-Labor, 1. KI-Biennale Essen 2022, ZHdK Zürich, Hochschule der Künste im Sozialen Ottersberg (HKS).