Who: The 2051 Munich Climate Conference by Büro Grandezza

Where: Online and at the Bellevue di Monaco, Munich

When: September 18 & 19, 2021

With: Bellevue di Monaco, Rehab Republic, Moby Digg, MediaBox TV

The 2051 Munich Climate Conference is a gathering of scientists, researchers, and scholars concerned about climate change. It is conceived and organized by the Büro Grandezza theatre collective and many partners.

The setting of T2051MCC is fictional. In their contributions, scholars will look back from an imagined future – the year 2051 – on today’s knowledge and discourses on climate change. T2051MCC will take place on 18 and 19 September 2021 at Bellevue di Monaco in Munich. 

As a future academic conference, it will be open to the general public. Virtual and live participation will be equally valued and free of charge.

An academic conference

As a result of an open call for papers, 46 scholars from five continents have been accepted for the conference. All contributions will be original works that are currently being produced. While all contributors will speak from a 2051 perspective, both the form of presentation and their vision of the future setting will vary greatly from person to person, from team to team. The scientific fields range from social and political studies to engineering, from archeology to molecular science, from museology to computer sciences, and many more.

An arts project

The most distinctive feature of the conference is the fact that artistic means have created a setting for new academic contributions. T2051MCC features two conceptually different days: on day one we assume that climate change has surpassed 2°C of warming. On the second day, we describe a world that has managed to remain below the 1.5°C threshold. The virtual and on-site conference platforms and the forms of the individual sessions are designed using artistic and theatrical means. They include virtual 3D spaces, interventions by performers and supernumeraries, and the inclusion of works by various artists.

T2051MCC will be streamed via video channels and also take place at a virtual conference centre. Here, a global audience will be able to meet and interact with each other and the space. Visitors will be welcome to interact with the conference’s scientific and artistic contributors.

There is a live-performance aspect to the conference which will run through the entire conference weekend. Visitors will be welcome to explore this particular version of the venue on their own terms and at their own pace. The performance will be developed in cooperation with many of the stakeholders and residents of Bellevue di Monaco in Munich, a cultural and residential centre for migrants and refugees.

T2051MCC will be streamed via video channels and also take place at a virtual conference centre. Here, a global audience will be able to meet and interact with each other and the space. Visitors will be welcome to interact with the conference’s scientific and artistic contributors.

There is a live-performance aspect to the conference which will run through the entire conference weekend. Visitors will be welcome to explore this particular version of the venue on their own terms and at their own pace. The performance will be developed in cooperation with many of the stakeholders and residents of Bellevue di Monaco in Munich, a cultural and residential centre for migrants and refugees.

© Büro Grandezza
© Büro Grandezza

The 2051 Munich Climate Conference ist eine Zusammenkunft von Wissenschaftler:innen und Forscher:innen die sich mit Klimawandel befassen. Sie wird organisiert und gestaltet vom Theaterkollektiv Büro Grandezza und Partnern. 

Der Rahmen von T2051MCC ist fiktiv. In ihren Beiträgen blicken die Wissenschaftler:innen aus einer imaginierten Zukunft zurück auf das heutige Wissen und die Diskurse im Bereich des Klimawandels. T2051MCC wird am 18. und 19. September 2021 online und vor Ort im Bellevue di Monaco in München stattfinden.

Als eine zukünftige Wissenschaftskonferenz wird sie der allgemeinen Öffentlichkeit offen stehen. Eine digitale Teilnahme einen ebenso großen Wert haben wie eine Teilnahme vor Ort. 

 

Eine akademische Konferenz

Aus dem Rücklauf auf einen offenen Call for Papers wurden Projekte von 46 Forscher:innen aus fünf Kontinenten angenommen. All diese Beiträge werden originale Arbeiten sein, die im Moment entstehen. Während alle eine Zukunftsperspektive einnehmen werden, werden die Form der Darstellung und die Zukunft, die vorgestellt wird, massiv voneinander abweichen - je nach Person und Team. Die wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsbereiche reichen von Sozial- und Politikwissenschaften zum Engineering, von Archäologie zur Molekularchemie, von Museologie zur Computerwissenschaft und einige mehr. 

Ein Kunstprojekt

Eine große Besonderheit dieser Konferenz ist, dass durch künstlerische Mittel ein Rahmen für neue akademische Beiträge geschaffen wurde. T2051MCC hat zwei konzeptionell verschiedene Tage. An dem einen nehmen wir an, dass die globale Erhitzung 2°C überschritten haben wird. An dem anderen beschreiben wir eine Welt, der es gelungen ist, unter der 1,5°-Schwelle zu bleiben. Die virtuellen und in München lokalen Räume sind ebenso mit künstlerischen Mitteln gestaltet wie die einzelnen Vorträge. Sie beinhalten interaktive 3D-Räume und Interventionen, Performer:innen und Statisten sowie Werke verschiedener Künstler:innen.

T2051MCC wird sowohl auf Videoplattformen gestreamt als auch in einem virtuellen Konferenzzentrum stattfinden. Hier kann ein weltweites Publikum sich treffen und interagieren. Gäste werden dazu eingeladen, mit den Urheber:innen der wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Beiträge direkt zu interagieren. 

Eine Live-Komponente begleitet das gesamte Konferenzwochenende. Gäste werden dazu eingeladen, auf eigene Faust diese besondere Version des Spielortes zu erforschen. Die Performance wird mit verschiedenen Stakeholdern des Bellevue di Monaco entwickelt. Es handelt sich dabei um ein kulturelles Zentrum und einen Wohnort für Migrant:innen und Geflüchtete.

© Büro Grandezza
© Büro Grandezza