Who:  Kontrapunkt

Where: Skopje (N.Macedonia), Pristina (Kosovo)

When: 01.01.2022 - 31.12.2022

With: qendra multimedia

The project is a joint collaborative action by Kontrapunkt from Skopje and Qendra Multimedia from Prishtina and aims to provide a response to the direct needs of the cultural scene in the Balkan region in relation to a degrading social context. Witnessing the lack of real and sustained critique of new and dangerous developments in the political, social, economic and environmental space, our action will make use of the innovative tools of contemporary critical cultural practices, such as digital media and performance. We want to encourage a young generation of creatives to become more engaged with the above-mentioned topics and experiment with new models of critical culture.    

The proposed action will experiment with new digital platforms and contemporary performance models for cultural critique; the performative part of the project resulting from the two first working phases is intended as an open-ended space for constant adaptation and innovation.

The Critical labs will bring together a group of regional cultural workers, artists and theorists who will deliver a series of structural workshops within the format of two-week labs, and subsequent residencies, aimed at the development of critical exchange and tools for addressing present social challenges. Taking place in Skopje and Prishtina, they will enable the local cultural community to engage with international facilitators, who will provide expertise and produce critical content.

Emerging critique is what will enable Kontrapunkt and Qendra Multimedia to further develop the production of new critique in culture, arts and theatre, to be disseminated via the digital platforms of both organizations - Digital Agora (Kontrapunkt) and SEE Stage (Qendra Multimedia). The need for this activity arises from the lack of locally produced and locally relevant critique, giving space to new voices of the young generation to participate in the public debate.

Performed critique will use the topics featured in the labs’ activities and the critical texts in the platforms as the basis for the two performative events which will further the aims of the whole project. The performative events will take place both in Skopje and Prishtina, with input and reactions from both cities. Both performances will involve regional experts in the performing arts and new digital technologies to deliver a hybrid and challenging model of social interaction.

Wer:  Kontrapunkt

Wo: Skopje (N.Macedonia), Pristina (Kosovo)

Wenn: 01.01.2022 - 31.12.2022

Mit: qendra multimedia

Das Projekt ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen Kontrapunkt aus Skopje und Qendra Multimedia aus Pristina und will auf die unmittelbaren Bedürfnisse der Kulturszene der Balkanregion reagieren, die sich in einem degradierenden sozialen Kontext bewegt. Angesichts des Mangels an echter und nachhaltiger Kritik an neuen und gefährlichen Entwicklungen im politischen, gesellschaftlichen, wirtschaftlichen Raum sowie dem des Umweltschutzes, wird unsere Aktion innovative Werkzeuge zeitgenössischer kritischer Kulturpraktiken nutzen, zum Beispiel digitale Medien und Performance. Wir möchten eine junge Generation von Kreativen anregen, sich mehr mit den oben genannten Themen auseinanderzusetzen und mit neuen Modellen kritischer Kultur zu experimentieren.

Die vorgeschlagene Aktion experimentiert mit neuen Digitalplattformen und zeitgenössischen Performance-Modellen kultureller Kritik; der performative Teil des Projekts resultiert aus den ersten zwei Arbeitsphasen und ist als offener Raum zur kontinuierlichen Anpassung und Innovation gedacht.

Die Kritischen Labs bringen eine Gruppe von Kulturschaffenden, Künstler*innen und Theoretiker*innen aus der Region zusammen, die gemeinsam innerhalb des Formats der zweiwöchigen Labs und anschließender Residencies eine Reihe struktureller Workshops anbieten. Ziel ist die Entwicklung kritischen Austausches und der Werkzeuge, um gegenwärtige gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen anzugehen. Die Workshops finden in Skopje und Pristina statt und sollen der lokalen Kulturszene ermöglichen, mit internationalen Moderatoren zusammenzuarbeiten, die entsprechende Expertise mitbringen und kritische Inhalte produzieren.

„Emerging critique“ ermöglicht Kontrapunkt und Qendra Multimedia, die Produktion neuer Kritik in Kultur, Kunst und Theater weiterzuentwickeln, wobei diese mithilfe der Digitalplattformen beider Organisationen – Digital Agora (Kontrapunkt) und SEE Stage (Qendra Multimedia) – verbreitet wird. Die Notwendigkeit hierzu ergibt sich aus dem Mangel an vor Ort produzierter und vor Ort relevanter Kritik. Diese Projektphase gibt den neuen Stimmen einer jungen Generation die Möglichkeit, an der öffentlichen Debatte teilzuhaben.

„Performed critique“ wiederum nutzt die Themen der Labs und die kritischen Texte, die auf den Plattformen erscheinen, als Grundlage für zwei performative Events, die das Projekt als Ganzes weiterbringen. Die Veranstaltungen werden sowohl in Skopje wie in Pristina stattfinden, wobei beide Städte sich einbringen und auch reagieren. Beide Performance-Events bauen auf regionale Experten für die darstellenden Künste und auf neue, digitale Technologien, um ein hybrides, kontroverses Modell sozialer Interaktion zu produzieren.