© Nachtstillleben, Antje Schiffers

Who: Myvillages

Where: Nagykamarás (HU), Ohne (DR), Stuli (BY), Cerezales (ES) und diverse Städte

When: 01.02.2021 - 31.12.2022

With: 
Trafó House of Contemporary Arts
THEALTER Festival / Katalin Erdödi
MUSAC 
Fundación Cerezales Antonino y Cinia
Kunstwegen SkulpturenprojektBrest-Fond/Alina Derewjanko 

The nomadic village theatre Rural Productive Forces will travel from partner to partner, through four regions of Europe with different stories, urgencies and perspectives on rural transformation processes, gathering new artistic collaborators and local actors in each location, involving farmers and land workers, ‘true locals’ and newcomers, school teachers and students, music and theatre groups as well as politically active or simply curious neighbours.

Migration and rural exodus, conflicts of interest between industrialized agriculture and small-scale producers, land grabbing and corruption, suburbanization and centralization of political decision-making – these are burning issues for many rural communities. The history of land use, the different value systems at work in (land) ownership, strategies of resistance and resilience, the cultural history of relations between the country and the city are just a few aspects of the complex social and historical questions. Each partner will address the ones most pressing in their respective local contexts.

The village play combines a documentary, investigative approach with collective playwriting and participatory practices from the visual arts. It explores imaginative ways of storytelling to which local collaborators contribute with their stories, ideas and visions for the future. The performance itself adapts to different situations locally: it can be a site-specific parcours through the village, activating public space, but it can also be performed on stage or in an exhibition space, where the images of the village are mediated via video footage, home-made props and scenery. Thus the project explores the possibilities of performative forms and collective creation, stressing not only political engagement, but also artistic experimentation.

Since 2003 the international artists’ collective founded by Kathrin Böhm (UK/DE), Wapke Feenstra (NL) and Antje Schiffers (DE) has been passionately questioning the cultural hegemony of the urban and initiates trans-local and co-operative projects in various villages and landscapes around the world, working with experimental formats such as the International Village Shop, nomadic rural schools, village revues and farmers’ films.

© Nachtstillleben, Antje Schiffers

Wer: Myvillages

Wo: Nagykamarás (HU), Ohne (DR), Stuli (BY), Cerezales (ES) und diverse Städte

Wann: 01.02.2021 - 31.12.2022

Mit wem: 
Trafó House of Contemporary Arts
THEALTER Festival / Katalin Erdödi
MUSAC 
Fundación Cerezales Antonino y Cinia
Kunstwegen SkulpturenprojektBrest-Fond/Alina Derewjanko 

Als nomadisches dörfliches Theater reist Ländliche Produktivkräfte von Partner*in zu Partner*in, durch vier Regionen Europas mit verschiedenen Geschichten, drängenden Themen und Perspektiven auf ländliche Transformationsprozesse, um an jedem Ort neue künstlerische Mitwirkende und lokale Akteur*innen einzubinden, Landwirte, Landarbeiterinnen, Alteingesessene und Zugezogene, Lehrerinnen und Schüler, lokale Musik- oder Theatergruppen, politisch Aktive oder einfach neugierige Nachbar*innen.

Migration und Landflucht, Interessenkonflikte zwischen Agrarindustrie und kleinbäuerlichen Strukturen, Landgrabbing und Korruption, Suburbanisierung und Zentralisierung von politischer Entscheidungskraft – je nach Ort werden die Projektpartner*innen unterschiedliche Themen in den Fokus stellen. Die Geschichte der Verteilung von Land, die unterschiedliche Bewertung von (Land)besitz in verschiedenen Systemen, Formen des Widerstandes und Ausweichens oder die Kulturgeschichte der Stadt-Land-Beziehungen bilden das komplexe historische und gesellschaftliche Netz von Bezügen.

Das Village-Play bringt einen investigativen, dokumentarischen Ansatz mit Methoden kollektiver Stückentwicklung und partizipativer Praxis in der bildenden Kunst zusammen. Es setzt auf Vielstimmigkeit und eine Vielzahl verbaler und nonverbaler Erzählformen, entwickelt aus den Erfahrungen, Ideen und Zukunftsvisionen der Mitwirkenden. Die Performance formt sich an den lokalen Gegebenheiten, als ortsspezifischer Parcours durch ein Dorf, auf der Bühne oder im Museum. In den zwei Jahren reichert sie sich an, mit Inhalten und Kulissen, Filmen und Protagonistinnen, Requisiten und Choreographien. Das Projekt erprobt die Möglichkeiten performativer Formate sowie kollektiver Formfindung und setzt damit auf künstlerisches Experiment ebenso wie politische Aktion.

Die Künstlerinneninitiative Myvillages, 2003 gegründet von Kathrin Böhm (UK/DE), Wapke Feenstra (NL) und Antje Schiffers (DE) tritt für ein Neuverständnis des ländlichen Raums als Ort von und für kulturelle Produktion ein. Myvillages stellt die kulturelle Hegemonie des Urbanen in Frage und initiiert translokale, kooperative Projekte in Europa und weltweit, mit experimentellen Formaten wie dem International Village Shop, einer Dorfrevue, Bauernfilmen, der Eco-nomadic School, oder der Getränkekooperative Company Drinks.