Festival
Re:Writing the Future 2021

25 - 28 February 2021

Re:Writing the Future is a festival by those of us who have been forced to leave home because they make art. By those of us who have been working to keep cities open to new voices. And by those of us who offer creative and open spaces to develop new perspectives. 

Our societies have long contradicted the idea that “here” and “there”, “us” and “them” are fitting terms to describe the ever-shifting, ever-moving, multilingual reality we inhabit. There is here; they are us; we are them. Let’s make this reality an experience.   

Debates, lectures, concerts and readings will be streamed live from multiple locations in Berlin. A series of digital workshops will connect artists, cultural practitioners and city officials from around the world. The participation is free and open for the public.

The festival Re:Writing the future is carried out by Allianz Kulturstiftung, in cooperation with the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program and Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin, in partnership with ICORN – International Cities of Refuge Network and funded by the Senate for Culture and Europe of the City of Berlin.  
Confirmed locations for the hybrid events include the Allianz Forum at Pariser Platz, the Palais am Festungsgraben, the Haus für Poesie, the Maxim Gorki Theater, the Elisabeth Church and the daadgalerie.  
Among the participating artists and guests are Svetlana Alexievich, Ghayath Almadhoun, Mohammad Ashraf, Khaled Barakeh, Can Dündar,  Ali Hassan, Wolfgang Kaleck, Esra Karakaya, Herta Müller, Rasha Nahas, Marina Naprushkina, Milo Rau, Hakan Savaş Mican, Nazeeha Saeed, Elisabeth Wellershaus, Eyal Weizman et. al.  
The festival is realized in cooperation with a steadily growing number of actors and institutions in the field of arts and culture, e.g. Academy in Exile, Arts of the Working Class, Boom Boom Tales, daadgalerie, Deutsches Historisches Museum, ECCHR, Forensic Architecture, Freemuse, Hertie School, Haus für Poesie, the International Institute for Political Murder, the Martin Roth-Initiative, Sasha Waltz & Guests, Wir Machen Das et. al.
A curatorial team consisting of the poet and essayist Max CzollekSilvia Fehrmann (DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme), Esra Küçük (Allianz Kulturstiftung) and Johannes Kirsten (Maxim Gorki Theater) is responsible for the conceptual development and the overarching idea of the festival.

Festival
Re:Writing the Future 2021

25. - 28. Februar 2021

Re:Writing the Future ist ein Festival von und für diejenigen von uns, die ihre Heimat verlassen mussten, weil sie Kunst schaffen. Von und für diejenigen, die sich dafür einsetzen, dass Städte für neue Stimmen offen bleiben. Von und für diejenigen, die kreative und offene Räume erschließen, um neue Perspektiven zu entwickeln.

Schon lange ist klar, dass vermeintliche Gegensätze wie “hier” und “dort” oder “sie” und “wir” in keinster Weise die sich ständig wandelnde, immer in Bewegung begriffene, multilinguale Realität abbilden, in der wir leben. Hier ist dort, wir sind sie. Lasst uns diese Wirklichkeit erfahrbar machen.

Debatten, Vorträge, Konzerte und Lesungen werden live von verschiedenen Orten aus Berlin gestreamt. Eine Reihe digitaler Workshops wird Künstler*innen, Kulturschaffende und Städtevertreter*innen aus der ganzen Welt miteinander vernetzen. Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos und offen für alle.

Das Festival Re:Writing the Future wird von der Allianz Kulturstiftung ausgerichtet, in Kooperation mit dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD und dem Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin, in Partnerschaft mit ICORN  und gefördert von der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa
Bestätigte Veranstaltungsorte für die hybriden Veranstaltungen sind das Allianz Forum am Pariser Platz, das Palais am Festungsgraben, das Haus für Poesie, das Maxim Gorki Theater, die Elisabethkirche und die daadgalerie. 
Unter den beteiligten Künstler*innen und Gästen sind Swetlana Alexijewitsch, Ghayat Almadouhn, Mohammad Ashraf, Khaled Barakeh, Can Dündar,  Ali Hassan, Wolfgang Kaleck, Esra Karakaya, Herta Müller, Rasha Nahas, Marina Naprushkina, Milo Rau, Hakan Savaş Mican, Nazeeha Saeed, Elisabeth Wellershaus, Eyal Weizman u. a.
Re:Writing the Future wird in Zusammenarbeit mit einer stetig wachsenden Zahl von Akteur*innen und Institutionen aus dem Bereich Kunst und Kultur realisiert, u.a. Academy in Exile, Arts of the Working Class, Boom Boom Tales, daadgalerie, Deutsches Historisches Museum, ECCHR, Forensic Architecture, Freemuse, Hertie School, Haus für Poesie, the International Institute for Political Murder, the Martin Roth-Initiative, Sasha Waltz & Guests, Wir Machen Das et. al.
Ein Kurator*innenteam, bestehend aus dem Dichter und Essayisten Max Czollek, Silvia Fehrmann (Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD), Esra Küçük (Allianz Kulturstiftung) und Johannes Kirsten (Maxim Gorki Theater), ist für die konzeptionelle Entwicklung des Festivals verantwortlich.