Joss Turnbull © Andreas J. Etter

Who: Alte Feuerwache Mannheim

Where: Mannheim, Bern, London, Beirut

When: 2021-2022

With: 
Norient
Irtijal-Festival Beirut
Al-Balad Music Festival
King's College London

WELCOME TO PLANET EARS

A Syrian singer and a German electronic musician inspire their audience together at a sold-out club. A Norwegian musician plays Afrobeat, an Italian Turkish electro. Dozens of languages resound, and everyone understands what it's all about. What reads like a vision of an open society comes true for a few days at Planet Ears.

The aim of Planet Ears is to build a platform for progressive developments in international contemporary culture and to create free spaces for creative work, exchange and networking. To this end, musicians and music experts representing various niches of the global music scene will be invited and presented to an audience of all generations and many nations - at open-air events, concerts and panels.

As programmatic focal points with free admission, the symposium (lectures, panel discussions, public interviews, network meetings) and open-air events will take place in September 2021 and 2022, respectively. Furthermore, numerous concerts will be presented at various locations in Mannheim. In addition, artist workshops are planned, focusing on experiments and research.

Planet Ears aims to complement established and sometimes entrenched notions of other cultures with new, contemporary perspectives, to make it possible to start conversations through cultural activities, and to get to know the intercultural diversity of the city. Rethink international music!

Program Planet Ears 2021

Joss Turnbull © Andreas J. Etter

Wer: Alte Feuerwache Mannheim

Wo: Mannheim, Bern, London, Beirut

Wann: 2021-2022

Mit wem: 
Norient
Irtijal-Festival Beirut
Al-Balad Music Festival
King's College London

WILLKOMMEN AUF DEM PLANET EARS

Ein syrischer Sänger und ein deutscher Elektronikmusiker begeistern gemeinsam in einem ausverkauften Klub. Ein norwegischer Musiker spielt Afrobeat, ein italienischer türkischen Elektro. Dutzende Sprachen erklingen und alle verstehen, worum es geht. Was sich wie eine Vision einer offenen Gesellschaft liest, wird bei Planet Ears einige Tage wahr. 

Ziel ist es, mit Planet Ears eine Plattform für progressive Entwicklungen der internationalen Gegenwartskultur aufzubauen und Freiräume für kreatives Schaffen, Austausch und Vernetzung zu schaffen. Dafür werden Musiker*innen und Musik-Experten*innen aus unterschiedlichen Nischen der globalen Musikszene eingeladen und einem Publikum aus allen Generationen und vielen Nationen präsentiert – bei Open-Air Veranstaltungen, Konzerten und Panels.

Als programmatische Schwerpunkte mit freiem Eintritt werden das Symposium (Vorträge, Diskussionsrunde, öffentliche Interviews, Netzwerktreffen) und die Open-Air-Veranstaltungen jeweils im September 2021 und 2022 stattfinden. Darüber hinaus werden zahlreiche Konzerte an verschiedenen Orten in Mannheim präsentiert. Zusätzlich sind Künstler*innen-Werkstätten geplant, in denen experimentiert und geforscht werden kann.

Planet Ears möchte etablierte und mitunter festgefahrene Vorstellungen von anderen Kulturkreisen um neue, zeitgemäße Perspektiven ergänzen und es ermöglichen, durch kulturelle Aktivitäten miteinander ins Gespräch zu kommen und die interkulturelle Vielfalt der Stadt kennenzulernen. Rethink international music!