Outernational_Arnaud Ele

Who: Outernational

Where: Germany, Chios/Greece, Luxembourg 

When: 2020-2021

With:
Van Outernational
Radial Stiftung/ radialsystem
Chios Music Festival

Developed with outstanding soloists, the interdisciplinary programmes will celebrate their premiere at the radialsystem in Berlin, from where they will make guest appearances in Europe. Political, social and postcolonial issues are addressed in the accompanying ’Outernational listening’ sessions.

Outernational listening and VAN Outernational 

The question with which ears these new sound spaces can be entered is also part of the process. Each concert is accompanied by a multimedia discourse format called ’Outernational listening’, in which musicians, philosophers, sociologists and scientists talk to the audience about topics related to the concerts. In addition, a digital focus is created around each concert on the platform van-outernational.com. 

Laboratory in Berlin - guest performances in Europe

After the development phase at Berlin’s radialsystem and the respective premiere, the concert projects are presented at European festivals such as the Chios Music Festival or the Rainy Days Festival in Luxembourg. The series is curated by Elisa Erkelenz.

Mariana Sadovska/ Max Andrzejewski/ Marta Zapparoli
2 December 2021, radialsystem, Berlin

An evening that meanders between experimental pop, noise and contemporary music and whose substance opens a couple of wounds:  the music  orbits darkness, wounds, pain and revolt...
Singer and composer Mariana Sadovska has explored and recorded various singing techniques in Ukraine that have fallen out of collective memory.
Belarusian conductor Vitali Alekseenok and choreographer Stephanie Thiersch will participate at the listening session Rituals of Wounding.

Sokratis Sinopoulos/ Bijan & Keyvan Chemirani/ Yannis Kyriakides
7/8 August 2021, Chios Music Festival, Greece
12 September 2021, radialsystem, Berlin
18 November 2021, Rainy Days Festival, Luxembourg

A program in flux, along consolidating and dissolving borders: Persian and European baroque flows into improvisations to live electronics, sometimes foaming, sometimes deep, sometimes quiet. A new composition by Yannis Kyriakides for the entire instrumentation from Greek lyre to theorbo is dedicated to the philosopher Metrodorus of the island of Chios. From the Mediterranean as a space of sound and thought we come to the island as a former utopia.

Listening Session  »Water Walls«

This listening session with Kübra Gümüşay & Yannis Kyriakides accompanied a program in flux, along consoladating and dissolving borders, the concert edition Isles & Rivers.

 

Leopold Hurt, Mohammad Reza Mortazavi, Golnar Shahyar, Mona Matbou Riahi, Elsa M'Bala
3 August 2021, radialsystem, Berlin 

In Amazon Stories soloists from a wide range of artistic practices - from Persian classical music to performative voice art to zither, composition and video - become a community of practice, searching for possibilities of "coming together" in a fractured world and negotiating spaces and potentials of diversity. Compositions and improvisations in various instrumentations meet archive recordings of Iranian songs; myths of freedom and Amazons unfold a symbolic life of their own on a visual level. Musically, the concert performance wanders from compositions from the collective to improvisational encounters in various constellations to electronics and composed, ancient music.

Listening Session:  »Another Ethics Of Listening«
3 August 2021, radialsystem, Berlin 

In this listening session, political and cultural scientist Prof. Dr. Nikita Dhawan and composer and percussionist Ketan Bhatti dialogue on the art and ethics of listening in our contemporary societies. 
The film accompanied the concert »Outernational: Amazon Stories«.

Trickster Orchestra & Guests
25 October 2020, radialsystem, Berlin 

With their secret knowledge and intellect, with their will to upset the divine order and their revolutionary character, tricksters are shape-shifters. The Berlin Trickster Orchestra unites musicians of different traditions to a sound of trans-traditional music – a resounding mirror of the multiplural society. With guests from Bangkok, Chiang Mai and Bangalore, the soloist ensemble deals in this new concert project with the question of change. How does the new come into the world? Through destruction, mutation, imitation, adaptation or revolution? 

Kamilya Jubran/Cevdet Erek/Werner Hasler
15 January 2021, concert film

Kamilya Jubran is one of the most formative voices of the Arab avant-garde that influences an entire generation today. Accompanied by the Swiss trumpet player and electronic artist Werner Hasler, the singer enters a new space with her programme. The musician Cevdet Erek from Istanbul dedicates his performance to the davul, a bass drum that is widely used in regions from Eastern Europe to the Middle East. They are accompanied by baroque and renaissance sounds constructing old listening spaces from fundament to ornament.
Listening Session "Postmigrantische Gesellschaft im Wandel“
20 January 2021, in German

In the second edition of the Outernational Listening Sessions professor Naika Foroutan, Director and Head of Department of “Integration Research and Social Policy” at the Berlin Institute for Empirical Integration and Migration Research, and the social scientist Esra Küçük, Managing Director of the Allianz Kulturstiftung (Allianz Cultural Foundation), will discuss questions concerning a post-migrant society.

Songs of Wounding

Wann: 23. März 2022, 19 Uhr

Wo: Akademie der Künste Berlin, Hanseatenweg 10, 10557 Berlin

Eintritt gegen Spende:  Anmeldung hier 

Die Allianz Kulturstiftung und Outernational veranstalteten in Zusammenarbeit mit der Akademie der Künste Berlin einen Solidaritätsabend für die Ukraine: Unsere Gedanken sind bei allen Leidtragenden dieses Krieges - innerhalb wie außerhalb des Landes. Denn der Krieg gegen die Ukraine ist zugleich ein Krieg gegen Europa.

Als Allianz Kulturstiftung stehen wir in den letzten zwanzig Jahren für den Zusammenhalt in Europa ein. Gemeinsam setzen wir uns für ein friedliches Miteinander und offene Gesellschaften ein. Wir wollen ein klares Zeichen der Solidarität setzen, Zwischentöne erklingen lassen und zu Spenden aufrufen. 

Im Zentrum des Abends stand ein Outernational-Konzert der ukrainischen Sängerin Mariana Sadovska unter dem Titel „Songs of Wounding“. In einer umfangreichen Recherche hat die Sängerin und Performerin Audioaufnahmen in ukrainischen Dörfern gemacht und dabei verschiedene, im kollektiven Gedächtnis vergessene Gesangstechniken erforscht. Der Komponist Max Andrzejewski hat diese im engen Dialog mit Sadovska neu vertont.

Weiterhin traten die Sängerinnen Ganna Gryniva und Viktoria Leléka auf – gemeinsam mit literarischen und künstlerischen Stimmen aus der Region und Deutschland wie u.a. Navid Kermani (digital) wurde ein Zeichen für grenzüberschreitende Solidarität gesetzt! 

Der Berliner Kultursenator Dr. Klaus Lederer sprach mit Esra Kücük, Geschäftsführerin der Allianz Kulturstiftung, sowie dem Aktivisten und Dirigenten Vitali Alekseenok zu Förder- und Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten für Künstler*innen im Exil, die beiden Verein n-ost und Ukraine-Hilfe Berlin stellten kurz ihre Arbeit vor.

Rund 400 Gäste waren an dem Abend live dabei.

Mit: Mariana Sadovska (Gesang), Max Andrzejewski (Schlagzeug und Komposition), Pavel Zuzanski und Rebecca Beyer (Violine), Andreas Arend (Theorbe), Lea Rahel Bader (Gambe), James Banner (Kontrabass), Marta Zapparoli (Soundcollagen), Ganna Gryniva and Viktoria Leléka (Gesang).
Kuratiert von Elisa Erkelenz (Outernational). 

Mit dem Solidaritätskonzert werden Spenden für zwei Initiativen gesammelt, die Hilfe vor Ort und für geflüchtete Zivilist*innen wie Journalist*innen leisten:
Foto: Ivano-Frankivs'ka oblast, Ukraine. Credits: Max Kukurudziak on Unsplash.
Foto: Der Journalist Maxim Dondyk in Kyjiw. Credits: Efrem Lukatsky.
Outernational_Arnaud Ele

Wer: Outernational

Wo: Deutschland, Athen, Chios/Griechenland, Türkei, Frankreich

Wann: 2022-2023

Mit wem:
Radial Stiftung/radialsystem
VAN Outernational
Chios Music Festival
Goethe-Institut Istanbul
u.a.

Entwickelt mit herausragenden Solist*innen feiern die interdisziplinären Programme Premiere im radialsystem in Berlin, um von dort in Europa zu gastieren. Politischen wie sozialen und postkolonialen Fragestellungen stellt sich das Projekt in begleitenden »Outernational listening sessions« - tanzbar geht es in die Nacht. 

Outernational listening und VAN Outernational
Die Frage, mit welchen Ohren diese neuen Klangräume betreten werden können, sind ebenso Teil des Prozesses. Begleitet wird jedes Konzert von einem multimedialen Diskursformat »Outernational listening«, bei dem Musiker*innen sowie Philosoph*innen, Soziolog*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen mit dem Publikum zu an die Konzerte angedockten Themen ins Gespräch kommen. Außerdem entsteht rund um jedes Konzert ein eigener, digitaler Schwerpunkt auf der Plattform van-outernational.com.

Laboratorium in Berlin – Gastspiele in Europa
Nach der Entwicklungsphase im Berliner radialsystem werden die Konzertprojekte im europäischen Raum präsentiert, so auf dem Chios Music Festival oder dem Rainy Days Festival in Luxemburg.
Die Reihe wird kuratiert von Elisa Erkelenz.

Mariana Sadovska/ Max Andrzejewski/ Marta Zapparoli
2. Dezember 2021, radialsystem, Berlin

Ein Abend, der zwischen experimentellem Pop, Noise und zeitgenössischer Musik mäandert und thematisch in die Wunde geht:  Die Musik umkreist das Dunkle, die Wunde, den Schmerz und die Revolte… Die Sängerin und Komponistin Mariana Sadovska  hat über Jahre hinweg Aufnahmen in ukrainischen Dörfern gemacht und dabei verschiedene, im kollektiven Gedächtnis vergessene Gesangstechniken erforscht. 
Der belarussische Dirigent und Aktivist Vitali Alekseenok und die Choreographin Stephanie Thiersch gestalten die begleitende Listening Session Rituals of Wounding.

Sokratis Sinopoulos/ Bijan & Keyvan Chemirani/ Yannis Kyriakides
7./8. August 2021, Chios Music Festival, Griechenland
12. September 2021, 19 Uhr im radialsystem 
18. November 2021, Rainy Days Festival, Luxemburg

Ein Programm im Fluss, entlang sich festigender und lösender Grenzen: Persischer und europäischer Barock fließt in Improvisationen zu Live-Elektronik, mal schäumend, mal tief, mal still. Eine neue Komposition von Yannis Kyriakides für die gesamte Besetzung von der griechischen Lyra zur Theorbe widmet sich dem Philosophen und Skeptiker Metrodorus der Insel Chios – und so fließt die Musik vom Mittelmeer als Klang- und Gedankenraum zur Insel als einstiger Utopie.

Listening Session  »Water Walls«

Die Listening Session mit Kübra Gümüşay & Yannis Kyriakides begleitete das Konzertprogram Isles & Rivers, ein Programm im Fluss, entlang sich lösender und festigender Grenzen.

 

Leopold Hurt, Mohammad Reza Mortazavi, Golnar Shahyar, Mona Matbou Riahi, Elsa M'Bala
3. August 2021, radialsystem, Berlin 

„Amazon Stories“ präsentiert Solist*innen verschiedener künstlerischer Praktiken, die in einer zerklüfteten Welt zu einer Gemeinschaft werden und nach neuen Möglichkeiten des „Zusammenkommens“ suchen. Der Daf- und Tonbak-Virtuose Mohammad Reza Mortazavi entlockt seinen Instrumenten komplexe Polyrhythmen. Golnar Shahyar benutzt ihre Stimme in verschiedenen Sprachen als experimentelles Instrument. Mit ihrer langjährigen musikalischen Partnerin, der Klarinettistin Mona Matbou Riahi, begibt sie sich in einen Dialog, der uns die Anverwandlung anderer Arten nachspüren lässt. Erstmalig treffen sie auf Leopold Hurt sowie auf die Soundkünstlerin Elsa M’Bala. 

Listening Session: »Another Ethics Of Listening« 
3. August 2021, radialsystem, Berlin 

Das Outernational-Konzert „Amazon Stories“ wurde von einer Listening Session mit der Kultur- und Politikwissenschaftlerin Prof. Dr. Nikita Dhawan begleitet, die über die Kunst und Ethik des (Zu)Hörens in unseren heutigen Gesellschaften  sprach; begleitet wurde sie von dem Komponisten und Percussionisten Ketan Bhatti. 

Trickster Orchestra & Guests
25. Oktober 2020, radialsystem, Berlin 

Mit ihrem geheimen Wissen und ihrem Intellekt, mit ihrem Willen, die göttliche Ordnung durcheinander zu bringen, und ihrem revolutionärem Charakter sind Trickster Gestaltenwandler. Das Berliner Trickster Orchestra vereint Musiker*innen verschiedenster Traditionen zu einem Sound trans-traditioneller Musik – ein klingender Spiegel der multipluralen Gesellschaft. Mit Gästen aus  Bangkok, Chiang Mai und Bengalore setzt sich das Solistenensemble in »Disturbing The Universal/ DIY« mit dem Thema Wandel auseinander. Wie kommt das Neue in die Welt? Durch Zerstörung, Mutation, Nachahmung, Anpassung oder Revolution? 

Kamilya Jubran/Cevdet Erek/Werner Hasler
15. Januar 2021, Online-Premiere

Kamilya Jubran ist die vielleicht prägendste Stimme arabischer Avantgarde, die heute eine ganze Generation beeinflusst. Begleitet von dem Schweizer Elektronikkünstler Werner Hasler betritt die Sängerin mit ihrem Programm einen neuen Raum. Der Musiker und Künstler Cevdet Erek aus Istanbul widmet sich in seiner ebenfalls über Jahre entwickelten Performance der Davul, einer in Regionen von Osteuropa bis zum Nahen Osten verbreiteten Basstrommel. Das Outernational Quartett widmet sich der architektonischen Struktur der Renaissance, vom Fundament zum Ornament.
Listening Session „Postmigrantische Gesellschaft im Wandel“
20. Januar 2021, Online-Premiere

In der zweiten Ausgabe der Outernational Listening Sessions setzten sich Prof. Dr. Naika Foroutan, Direktorin und Leiterin der Abteilung „Integrationsforschung und Gesellschaftspolitik“ am Berliner Institut für empirische Integrations- und Migrationsforschung, und die Sozialwissenschaftlerin Esra Küçük, Geschäftsführerin der Allianz Kulturstiftung, mit Fragen der postmigrantischen Gesellschaft auseinander.