Mobilistan

Who: Mobilistan, Manaf Halbouni, Christian Manss

Where: Berlin, Dresden, Prag, Wien, Sofia, Istanbul, Solingen

When: 15.09 - 18.11.2021

With: Zentrum für verfolgte Künste, Mahalla Festival, ifa - Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen

What is a state? What is its territory? Do we accept the way they are defined? Who will need to recognize us, besides us ourselves? These questions keep reappearing throughout history. A case in point is the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, a de-facto state in the north of the island of Cyprus that is not recognized by the international community except for Turkey – but the state does in fact exist. And it is not the only one of its kind:  examples include South Ossetia, Abkhazia, Artsakh or Transnistria, to name but a few. Another example hails from the realm of art: in 1992 the art collective NSK (Neue Slowenische Kunst) declared its transformation from a collective into a state ("State in Time"). All examples show that to create facts, a declaration of sovereignty as a state is often sufficient, while acceptance by some majority is not mandatory. Viewed objectively, a state is nothing more than a social administrative structure. 

Our project MOBILISTAN is to be understood purely as an ART PROJECT dealing with issues of mobility, territorial limits, recognition, marginalization, freedom to travel and the desire to belong. Mobilistan will be established within the area of a stretch limousine or state limousine, thus forming a territory which can be entered or exited through the doors of the vehicle. Mobilistan has its own flag, anthem and passport. There are four permanent residents of Mobilistan, simultaneously playing several roles such as State President, Foreign Secretary, Minister of Finance, Interior Minister etc. The four permanent residents are: Barbara Repe, Anne Manss, Manaf Halbouni and Christian Manss. They will determine the fortunes of Mobilistan: who is allowed to become a citizen, who gets a visa, or where Mobilistan is temporarily located. 

On the trip from Berlin to Istanbul to the Mahalla Festival, the state leaders are planning state visits to Dresden, Prague, Cracow, Vienna, Zagreb, Belgrade and Sofia. Of course, the duration of the trip depends on the pandemic conditions in the respective countries. However, the aim is to arrive in Istanbul in the last week of August for the opening of the festival with MOBILISTAN

As the culmination of state activities in 2021, MOBILISTAN will be on display as part of the exhibition ZONE by Manaf Halbouni at the “Center for Persecuted Arts” in Solingen on November 18, 2021.

Wer: Mobilistan, Manaf Halbouni, Christian Manss

Wo: Berlin, Dresden, Prag, Wien, Sofia, Istanbul, Solingen

Wann: 15.09 - 18.11.2021

Mit wem: Zentrum für verfolgte Künste, Mahalla Festival, ifa - Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen

 Was ist ein Staat? Was ist sein Territorium? Und akzeptieren wir dessen Definitionen? Wer muss uns anerkennen, wenn nicht nur wir selbst? Diese Fragen tauchen immer wieder in der Geschichte auf, z. B. ist die Türkische Republik Nordzypern ein de-facto-Regime im Norden der Mittelmeerinsel Zypern, das von der internationalen Staatengemeinschaft mit Ausnahme der Türkei nicht als Staat anerkannt wird - aber er existiert, ist eine Tatsache. Und damit ist die Republik nicht allein: Südossetien, Abchasien, Arzach oder Transnistrien, um nur einige zu nennen. Und als Beispiel aus dem Bereich der Kunst: Im Jahr 1992 erklärte die NSK (Neue Slowenische Kunst) ihre Umwandlung von einem Kollektiv in einen Staat („Staat in der Zeit“). Diese Beispiele zeigen, dass die Erklärung der Eigenständigkeit als Staat reicht, um Tatsachen zu schaffen, nicht die Akzeptanz der Mehrheit. Nüchtern betrachtet, ist ein Staat nicht mehr als eine gesellschaftliche Verwaltungsstruktur. 

MOBILISTAN soll als reines KUNSTPROJEKT verstanden werden, welches sich mit Fragen von Mobilität, begrenztem Territorium, Anerkennung, Ausgrenzung, Reisefreiheit und dem Wunsch nach Zugehörigkeit auseinandersetzt. Der Kunststaat wird auf dem Gebiet einer Stretchlimousine bzw. Staatslimousine entstehen und das Territorium bilden, in das man über die Türen des Fahrzeugs ein- und ausreisen kann. MOBILISTAN hat eine eigene Flagge, eine Hymne und einen eigenen Pass. Es gibt zu Beginn vier permanente Staatsbürger, welche gleichzeitig mehrere Rollen begleiten, wie Staatspräsident, Außenminister, Finanzminister, Innenminister etc. Diese vier permanenten Bürger sind Barbara Repe, Anne Manss, Manaf Halbouni und Christian Manss. Sie bestimmen über die Geschicke des Kunststaates: wer Bürger werden darf, ein Visum erhält, oder wo MOBILISTAN sich temporär befindet. 

Auf der Fahrt von Berlin nach Istanbul zum Mahalla Festival planen die Staatenlenker Staatsbesuche in Dresden, Prag, Krakau, Wien, Zagreb, Belgrad und Sofia. Natürlich hängt die Reisedauer von den pandemischen Bedingungen in den jeweiligen Ländern ab. Ziel ist es aber, in der letzten Augustwoche in Istanbul zur Eröffnung des Festivals mit MOBILISTAN einzutreffen. 

Als Abschluss der staatlichen Aktivitäten in 2021 wird MOBILISTAN zur Ausstellung ZONE von Manaf Halbouni im “Zentrum für verfolgte Künste” in Solingen am 18.11.21 zu sehen sein.