Who: Central European Forum

Where: Slovakia, Bosnia and Herzegovina

When: 2021

With: East West Center

Lonely Nations - is a joint project of two grassroots cultural initiatives, organically related to each other - the Central European Forum to Bratislava and the East West Center in Sarajevo. Both share the same focus on authentic dialogue between the European and global East and West, North and South. In order to enhance and open up our national and regional contexts, both strive to blur frontiers between culture and societal reflection. And both are rooted in a long tradition of civic defiance and defence of human dignity. 

 

In November 2021, the project will build a platform for a dialogue between their respective audiences and some of the most thought provoking literary authors, economists, sociologists, historians, anthropologists of our times in a series of public debates - introducing international panels of 2 to 4 speakers, comprising different generations, different parts of the world and different viewpoints, together with the most interesting national authors. Instead of inviting speakers from other continents separately to events in Slovakia and Bosnia, we would invite them jointly, increasing our chances of high-quality debates, while saving financial and environmental costs.

 

If the pandemic allows, speakers from Canada, the United States, China and India will debate with some of the most important European authors in Bratislava and three other Slovakian cities as well as in Sarajevo and Mostar in person. Needless to say, should that not be possible, there will be special online alternatives.

 

The main theme, loosely connecting all events, concerns the global phenomenon of loneliness inflicted by the virus. Loneliness can be lethal itself. It devastates communities and nations in a similar way it devastates individuals. It limits our capacity to generate creative responses to our urgent challenges and threats. Our imagination is literally locked down. 

 

At the same time, since its outbreak in 2019, the virus has been forcing us to understand the fragility of the basic frameworks of our lives, such as institutions of democracy which, inefficient and corrupt(ed) as they may be, still provided us with a certain protection. Even more important: for the first time in history we are confronted with the fragility of the biological framework of our existence. The reasons of such threats, obviously, are rooted deep in human nature. The symptoms are known: ever-increasing inequality, ever-faster unsustainable growth. We need to involve the public in a global debate on remedies. We need to mobilise the collective imagination, to break through the limitation of the lonely individual and national perspectives.  This is the goal our project aims to contribute to.

Wer: Central European Forum

Wo: Slowakei, Bosnien und Herzegovina 

Wann: 2021

Mit wem: East West Center

Lonely Nations ist ein gemeinsames Projekt von zwei Basis-Kulturinitiativen, die organisch miteinander verbunden sind - dem Central European Forum in Bratislava und dem East West Center in Sarajevo. Beide teilen den gleichen Fokus auf einen authentischen Dialog zwischen dem europäischen und globalen Osten und Westen, Norden und Süden, um unsere nationalen und regionalen Kontexte zu erweitern und zu öffnen; beide streben danach, die Grenzen zwischen Kultur und gesellschaftlicher Reflexion zu verwischen. Und beide sind verwurzelt in einer langen Tradition des zivilen Aufbegehrens und der Verteidigung der Menschenwürde.  

 Im November 2021 wird das Projekt eine Plattform für einen Dialog zwischen dem jeweiligen Publikum und einigen der anregendsten literarischen Autor:innen, Ökonom:innen, Soziolog:innen, Historiker:innen, Anthropolog:innen unserer Zeit in einer Reihe von öffentlichen Debatten schaffen - mit internationalen Panels von 2 bis 4 Rednern, die verschiedene Generationen, verschiedene Teile der Welt und verschiedene Sichtweisen umfassen, zusammen mit den interessantesten nationalen Autoren. Anstatt Redner aus anderen Kontinenten separat zu Veranstaltungen in der Slowakei und in Bosnien einzuladen, würden wir sie gemeinsam einladen, was unsere Chancen auf hochqualitative Debatten erhöht und finanzielle und ökologische Kosten spart. 

 Wenn es die Pandemie zulässt, werden Referent:innn aus Kanada, den USA, China und Indien zusammen mit einigen der wichtigsten europäischen Autoren in Bratislava und drei weiteren slowakischen Städten sowie in Sarajevo und Mostar persönlich diskutieren. Sollte das nicht möglich sein, wird es natürlich auch spezielle Online-Alternativen geben. 

 Das Hauptthema, das alle Veranstaltungen lose miteinander verbindet, betrifft das globale Phänomen der Einsamkeit, die vom Virus ausgelöst wird. Einsamkeit kann selbst tödlich sein. Sie verwüstet Gemeinschaften und Nationen in ähnlicher Weise, wie sie Individuen zerstört. Sie schränkt unsere Fähigkeit ein, kreative Antworten auf unsere dringenden Herausforderungen und Bedrohungen zu finden. Unsere Vorstellungskraft wird buchstäblich lahmgelegt.  

 Gleichzeitig zwingt uns das Virus seit seinem Ausbruch im Jahr 2019 dazu, die Fragilität der grundlegenden Rahmenbedingungen unseres Lebens zu verstehen, wie zum Beispiel die Institutionen der Demokratie, die, so ineffizient und korrumpiert sie auch sein mögen, uns immer noch einen gewissen Schutz bieten. Noch wichtiger: Zum ersten Mal in der Geschichte werden wir mit der Zerbrechlichkeit des biologischen Rahmens unserer Existenz konfrontiert. Die Gründe für die Bedrohung sind offensichtlich tief in der menschlichen Natur verwurzelt. Die Symptome sind bekannt: die immer größere Ungleichheit, das immer schnellere nicht nachhaltige Wachstum. Wir müssen die Öffentlichkeit in eine globale Debatte über Abhilfemaßnahmen einbeziehen. Wir müssen die kollektive Vorstellungskraft mobilisieren, um die Begrenzung durch die einsamen individuellen und nationalen Perspektiven zu durchbrechen.  Das ist das Ziel, zu dem unsere Projekte beitragen sollen.