© Hubert Amiel

Who: Ettijahat - Independent Culture

Where: Various states in the Middle East and Europe

When: 2020 - 2021

With: Goethe Institut

Many artists have been forced to leave their home country of Syria due to state repressions, persecution and war. Laboratory of Arts provides those artists and collectives with the financial backing to allow them to realise their creative ambitions. By supporting displaced artists, the programme offers possibilities for social dialogue and progressive thinking.

Since starting in 2014, 82 grants have been awarded to inspiring artists working in many different sectors, including cinema & animation; theatre; dance & performing arts; creative writing; visual arts including plastic arts, installations and graphic design; and music.

Moreover, participants are given the opportunity to showcase their work through Ettijahat’s international Syrian arts platform MINA: Artistic Ports & Passages. MINA is an art forum aiming to celebrate the work of Syrian artists in neighbouring countries and Europe. The second edition of MINA, entitled The restraints of Language and Geography, was supposed to take place in the French city of Bordeaux between 2-5 April 2020. Due to the outbreak of Covid-19, this had to be postponed. The next edition of MINA is scheduled to take place in Beirut in November 2021.  

Ettijahat – Independent Culture’s work is focused on supporting artistic production and promotion, which comes as a response to Ettijahat’s objective to contribute to the activation of the Syrian art movement and to enable artistic production in all creative fields.

© Hubert Amiel

Wer: Ettijahat - Independent Culture

Wo: Verschiedene Staaten im Nahen Osten und Europa

Wann: 2020 - 2021

Mit wem: Goethe Institut

Viele Künstler*innen sind aufgrund staatlicher Repressionen, Verfolgung und Krieg gezwungen, ihr Heimatland Syrien zu verlassen. Laboratory of Arts unterstützt diese Künstler*innen mit Produktionsstipendien, damit sie ihre kreativen Ambitionen verwirklichen können. Dadurch fördert das Programm Möglichkeiten für sozialen Dialog und fortschrittliches Denken.

Seit dem Beginn des Programms im Jahr 2014 wurden 82 Stipendien an inspirierende Künstler*innen vergeben, die in vielen verschiedenen Disziplinen tätig sind, darunter Kino und Animation, Theater, Tanz und darstellende Kunst, kreatives Schreiben, bildende Kunst, Installationen, Grafikdesign und Musik.

Darüber hinaus erhalten die Teilnehmer*innen die Möglichkeit, ihre Arbeit bei Ettijahats internationaler syrische Kunstplattform MINA: Artistic Ports & Passages zu präsentieren. MINA ist ein Kunstforum mit dem Ziel, die Arbeit syrischer Künstler*innen in den Nachbarländern und in Europa zu präsentieren. Die kommende, zweite Ausgabe von MINA mit dem Titel „The restraints of Language and Geography“ sollte vom 2. bis 5. April 2020 im französischen Bordeaux stattfinden, musste aufgrund der Covid-19 Pandemie jedoch auf unbestimmte Zeit verschoben werden. Das Forum macht die Werke syrischer Künstler*innen kostenlos einem breiten syrischen, französischen und europäischen Publikum zugänglich. Die dritte Ausgabe von MINA soll im November 2021 in Beirut stattfinden. 

Die Arbeit von Ettijahat - Independent Culture konzentriert sich auf Kunstproduktion und –förderung. Damit wird das das Ziel verfolgt, die syrischen Kunstwelt in Bewegung zu halten beizutragen und künstlerische Produktionen in allen kreativen Disziplinen zu ermöglichen.