© ilo_Ali Ghandtschi

7. international literature festival odesa

Who: international literature festival odesa

Where: Odesa/Ukraine

When: 22.-26. September 2021

With: 
Ukrainian Cultural Foundation
Fondation Jan Michalski
Pro Helvetia and others

In 2021, 25 authors from 10 countries will take part in diverse events - from readings and talks to workshops and productions. Traditionally, a special literature programme is organised for children and young adults, that the plan is for approx. 1,000 children and young people from Odesa's schools to take part in the readings. 
As in recent years, the events will take place at several venues throughout the city: the main venues are the House of Scientists as well as the National Theatre; readings for children and young people are held in the schools of Odesa, events aimed at students and young adults at the National I. I. Metschnikov University in Odesa.

The ilo is a multilingual festival, bringing together authors from all over the world. Texts by foreign guests will be read in the original as well as in Ukrainian. Subsequent discussion rounds will take place in simultaneous or consecutive translation. 

For the first time at the 7th ilo, a new event format will be added: performative readings and stagings of texts by Swiss author Lukas Bärfuss in cooperation with the Odesa National Theatre.

© ilo_Ali Ghandtschi

7. Internationales Literaturfestival Odessa

Wer: Internationales Literaturfestival Odessa

Wo: Odessa

Wann: 22.-26.09.2021

Mit wem: 
Ukrainian Cultural Foundation
Fondation Jan Michalski
Pro Helvetia u.a.

2021 nehmen circa 25 Autor*innen aus 10 Ländern an hybriden Veranstaltungsformaten wie Lesungen, Gesprächen, Workshops und Inszenierungen teil. Traditionell wird zudem ein speziell für Kinder und Jugendliche konzipiertes Literaturprogramm organisiert, an dem rund 1.000 Kinder und Jugendliche aus Odessas Schulen teilnehmen.  
Die Veranstaltungen des ilo finden wie auch in den letzten Jahren an mehreren Orten in der Stadt statt: Hauptveranstaltungsorte sind das Haus der Wissenschaftler sowie das Nationaltheater; Lesungen für Kinder und Jugendliche werden in den Schulen der Stadt durchgeführt; Veranstaltungen, die sich an Studierende und junge Erwachsene richten, an der Nationalen I.-I.-Metschnikow-Universität Odessa.

Das ilo ist mehrsprachig, da es Autor*innen aus aller Welt zusammenbringt. Die Texte der eingeladenen Gäste werden sowohl im Original als auch auf Ukrainisch vorgetragen, daran anschließende Gesprächsrunden finden mit simultaner bzw. konsekutiver Übersetzung statt. 

Erstmals wird beim 7. ilo auch ein neues Veranstaltungsformat erprobt: performative Lesungen und Inszenierungen von Texten des Schweizer Dramatikers Lukas Bärfuss in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Nationaltheater Odessa.