Photo credit: Agnieszka Bekalarczyk


Festival Góry Literatury

Who:  Fundacja Olgi Tokarczuk

Where: Nowa Ruda/ Kłodzko Valley (Poland)

When: 13-21 July 2022

With: City of Broumov

Benelux Countries

European Commission et al.

 

“Still there are seeds to be gathered, and room in the bag of stars.” – Ursula K. Le Guin

“When the story changes, so does the world.” – Olga Tokarczuk

The 7th edition of the Mountains of Literature Festival in 2022 will take place between 13 and 21 July. The central idea of this year’s festival was inspired by Ursula K. Le Guin, who in 1986, in a text entitled “The Carrier Bag Theory of Fiction”, referred to the intuition and concepts according to which the memory of humanity’s development continually cultivated through the history of creating and using tools of violence – bones, spears, axes, etc. – is an intellectual fraud. According to the writer, the foundation of the origins of civilisation lies in baskets, bags and nets – containers in which we collect useful things, which we then carry home, use ourselves and share with others. Elaborating on that idea, we will notice, apart from its various values and inspirations, the debunking of the still-dominant narrative: shifting the focus of the founding myth of humanity from the Man-Hero to the Human Being-Gatherer. Which also allows for a different look at the stereotype of the woman. The contemptuous, yet still present, image of “a woman with heavy bags” changes its character. It becomes a story about the true beginning and origins of humanity.

This year, the festival will become a huge basket, in which – thanks to authors, artists and academics – the seeds of many ideas which are extremely important in the contemporary world will be gathered and shared with the participants, in an attempt  to change the world for the better. More loyal, more equal, more just.

This year’s edition features the traditional meetings with authors, concerts, film screenings and exhibitions, but will also focus in particular on debates on the rule of law, freedom of speech, feminism and ecology. Participants will discuss various models of protest, will gather stories of the local residents, diagnose threats and define changes, considering the notion of identity and design the future. Using the example of the Benelux countries, the festival will return to the founding idea of the values of the European Union, in order to talk about coexistence, multiethnicity and multilingualism. The festival will also refer to current events which seem to be spiralling out of control – most of all, the crisis on the Polish-Belarussian border.

Hiking in the mountains, participants will cross the Czech border with botanists and poets, who will speak about nature knowing no borders. As usual, there will be workshops teaching adults to write and young people to read individually and with comprehension. The festival will be crowned by a seminar on surrealism and a multi-genre exhibition of young Polish art.

Photo credit: Agnieszka Bekalarczyk

Festival Góry Literatury 

Wer: Fundacja Olgi Tokarczuk

Wo: Nowa Ruda/ Kłodzko Valley (Polen)

Wann:  13.-20. Juli 2022

Mit wem: Broumov Stadt

Benelux Countries

European Commission u.v.m.

 

„Immer noch gibt es Samen einzusammeln und Platz im Sternenbeutel.“ – Ursula K. Le Guin

„Wenn sich die Geschichte verändert, verändert sich auch die Welt.“ – Olga Tokarczuk

Die 7. Ausgabe des Festivals Góry Literatury findet vom 13.-20. Juli 2022 statt. Die zentrale Idee des diesjährigen Festivals ist von Ursula K. Le Guin inspiriert, die 1986 in einem Text mit dem Titel „The Carrier Bag Theory of Fiction“ (dt: „Die Tragetaschentheorie des Erzählens“) die Vorstellungen und Konzepte, nach denen die kollektive Erinnerung an die Menschheitsentwicklung von der Schaffung und dem Gebrauch von Gewaltwerkzeugen – Knochen, Speere, Äxte etc. – verkörpert wird, als intellektuellen Betrug entlarvt. Der Schriftstellerin zufolge finden sich die Grundlagen der Zivilisationsanfänge in Körben, Beuteln und Netzen – Behältnissen, in denen wir nützliche Dinge sammeln, die wir dann nach Hause tragen, mit anderen teilen und selbst nutzen können. Wir erweitern diese Vorstellung und achten dabei nicht nur auf die darin enthaltenen Werte und Inspirationen, sondern widerlegen auch die nach wie vor dominierende Lesart: Die Schwerpunktverschiebung im Ursprungsmythos der Menschheit vom männlichen Helden zum menschlichen Sammler – oder der menschlichen Sammlerin. Dies ermöglicht eine andere Perspektive auf das Stereotyp des Weiblichen. Das verächtliche, aber immer noch verbreitete Bild einer „Frau mit schweren Taschen“ verändert seinen Charakter. Es wird zu einer Geschichte über die wirklichen Anfänge und Ursprünge der Menschheit.

Dieses Jahr wird das Festival ein riesiger Korb sein, in dem – dank der Autor*innen, Künstler*innen und Akademiker*innen – die Samen vieler Ideen gesammelt werden, die für die gegenwärtige Welt von enormer Bedeutung sind. Diese werden mit den Teilnehmenden geteilt, als Versuch, die Welt zum Besseren zu verändern – loyaler, gleicher, gerechter.

Die diesjährige Festivalausgabe beinhaltet Begegnungen mit Autor*innen, Konzerte, Filmvorführungen und Ausstellungen, legt aber einen besonderen Schwerpunkt auf Debatten über Rechtsstaatlichkeit, Meinungsfreiheit, Feminismus und Ökologie. Die Teilnehmenden diskutieren über diverse Formen von Protest, sammeln Geschichten der Bevölkerung vor Ort und definieren Veränderungen unter dem Gesichtspunkt von Identität und Zukunftsgestaltung. Am Beispiel der Benelux-Länder wird das Festival zu den Gründungswerten der Europäischen Union zurückkehren, um über Koexistenz, Vielvölkerstaaten und Vielsprachigkeit zu diskutieren, wie auch über aktuelle Herausforderungen der Gegenwart.

Bei Bergwanderungen werden die Teilnehmenden die tschechische Grenze überqueren in Begleitung von Botaniker*innen und Dichter*innen, die über die Grenzenlosigkeit der Natur sprechen. Neben Schreib- und Lese-Workshops  für junge Menschen und Erwachsenen wird ein Seminar über den Surrealismus sowie eine genreübergreifende Ausstellung junger polnischer Kunst organisiert.