Who: n-ost

Where: Germany, Greece, Poland, Romania and online

When: 2021-22

With: 
Athens live
Kajet
Kultura Liberalna

Many young, well-trained and committed documentary photographers have experienced, not least during the pandemic, that as individuals they no longer have an answer to all the challenges of their profession. Faced with complex realities, documentary photography, like text-based journalism, increasingly demands a dialogic, collaborative, and transnational method of working.

The project "europeanimages" connects documentary photographers from all parts of Europe with each other and with independent publishers in Greece, Romania and Poland, which are also project partners. This facilitates and promotes professional exchange. The result of the project will be a European publication.

Over the entire period of the project, the documentary photographers, coordinated by n-ost, meet once a month online with each other and once a month with the editors for a regular, professional exchange. In the first five months of the project, these meetings serve to conceptualize the content and structure of the collaboration and the planned publication. In the following twelve months, these meetings are primarily dedicated to the concrete planning, production and editing of the total of six planned issues of the English-language publication.

The documentary images of the photographers involved are at the core of the publication. Documentary photography operates between journalistic and artistic engagement. Addressing the recipient directly, it can depict complex realities across languages. This enables new approaches to topics that are relevant for the whole of Europe. The experienced editors of the project partners supervise the topic-setting and the corresponding texts.

The publication deliberately addresses both a specialist audience and a broad public.

 In keeping with the collaborative production process, the form of the publication focuses on a newsletter format in which all contributions are presented equally.

 In addition, three public events organized by the project partners will take place. These events give interested members of the public the opportunity to get to know the project, the photographers and their core interests with regard to content, but also facilitate a dialogue at eye-level.

 The project "europeanimages" promotes the potential of documentary photography on two levels. On the one hand, the networking of European documentary photographers and editorial offices strengthens cross-border collaboration. On the other hand, the publication and events open up access to documentary photography to a broad public and provide an alternative view of Europe.

Wer: n-ost

Wo: Deutschland, Griechenland, Rumänien, Polen und online 

Wann: 2021-22

Mit wem: 
Athens live 
Kajet 
Kultura Liberalna 

Viele junge, gut ausgebildete und engagierte Dokumentarfotograf:innen haben nicht zuletzt in der Zeit der Pandemie erfahren, dass sie als Einzelkämpfer:innen nicht mehr auf alle Herausforderungen ihres Berufes eine Antwort haben. Angesichts der komplexen Wirklichkeit verlangt die Dokumentarfotografie, ebenso wie textbasierter Journalismus, zunehmend eine dialogische, kollaborative und länderübergreifende Arbeitsweise.

 Das Projekt “europeanimages” vernetzt Dokumentarfotograf:innen aus allen Teilen Europas untereinander sowie mit unabhängigen Redaktionen in Griechenland, Rumänien und Polen, die auch Projektpartner sind. So wird ein professioneller Austausch ermöglicht und gefördert. Als Ergebnis wird eine europäische Publikation entstehen.

Über den gesamten Zeitraum des Projekts treffen sich die Dokumentarfotograf:innen, durch n-ost koordiniert, je einmal im Monat online untereinander und einmal mit den Redaktionen, um einen regelmäßigen, professionellen Austausch zu gewährleisten. In den ersten fünf Monaten des Projekts dienen diese Treffen der inhaltlichen und strukturellen Konzipierung der Zusammenarbeit und der geplanten Publikation. In den folgenden zwölf Monaten dienen diese Treffen vor allem der konkreten Planung, Produktion und Redaktion der insgesamt sechs geplanten Ausgaben der englischsprachigen Veröffentlichung.

Die dokumentarischen Bilder der beteiligten Fotograf:innen stehen im Mittelpunkt der Publikation. Dokumentarfotografie agiert zwischen journalistischer und künstlerischer Auseinandersetzung. Sie spricht Rezipient:innen direkt an und kann komplexe Wirklichkeiten sprachübergreifend darstellen. Sie kann damit einen neuen Zugang zu europäischen Themen ermöglichen.

Die erfahrenen Redakteur:innen der Projektpartner betreuen die Themensetzung und die entsprechenden Texte. 

Die Publikation wendet sich sowohl an ein Fachpublikum als auch bewusst an eine breite Öffentlichkeit, die keinen spezifischen Kontakt mit dem Medium Fotografie hat.

Die Form der Publikation konzentriert sich, dem kollaborativen Produktionsprozess entsprechend, auf ein Newsletterformat, bei dem alle Beiträge gleichberechtigt verhandelt werden.

Begleitend finden drei von den Projektpartnern organisierte öffentliche Veranstaltungen statt. Hier erhält eine interessierte Öffentlichkeit die Möglichkeit, das Projekt, seine inhaltlichen Schwerpunkte und die Fotograf:innen kennenzulernen und in Dialog zu treten.

Das Projekt “europeanimages” fördert die Potenziale dokumentarischer Fotografie auf zwei Ebenen. Einerseits wird durch die Vernetzung europäischer Dokumentarfotograf:innen und Redaktionen länderübergreifende Kollaboration gestärkt. Andererseits wird einer breiten Öffentlichkeit durch die Publikation und die Veranstaltungen ein neuer Zugang zur Dokumentarfotografie eröffnet sowie ein alternativer Blick auf Europa ermöglicht.