DRIN project page 
Who: Goethe Institute Finland

Where: Danmark, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Norway, Netherlands, Sweden 

When: 2022

With: 
Finnish Reading Centre
Norsk Barnebokinstituttet
Deutsche Akademie für Kinder- und Jugendliteratur
Kinderboekenmuseum Niederlande
Rose Stories Netherlands
et al.

BIPOC Perspectives in Children's Literature
Brochure DRIN project

Children’s books shape our view of the world and of ourselves in the long term. It is important for everyone to see themselves reflected in stories, illustrations, and narratives, and to learn about how diverse people and their lives are. Children’s literature in Germany and (Northern) European countries today does not reflect our plural societies – e.g. 40% of children starting school in Germany have a personal or family story of migration.

The DRIN project brings together international authors, illustrators, librarians, and publishers to share knowledge and build networks of empowerment. It sets new standards for more diverse children’s literature in Europe and involves young (and multilingual) readers. DRIN addresses the issue of equal participation, highlights the gaps in representation in children’s literature, and encourages diverse authors and illustrators to shape the book market and create new materials for children and young people. It also raises awareness among publishers, libraries, institutions that promote reading, and educational authorities.

DRIN has successfully reached out to creatives, decision-makers, and readers. The results of the 2021 publication In Our Own Words will be used in seminars and events organised by partners and festivals. This network of BIPOC creatives will be expanded and strengthened through ongoing knowledge exchange. The aim is to apply diversity criteria in children’s literature production and showcase the creatives behind the books. We include a wide range of young readers, support anti-discrimination education, and promote reading. Research findings about critiquing norms are transferred into practice.

DRIN organizes international seminars, webinars, book clubs, and workshops with its partner network. One key aim is to address the questions of view, representation, and ownership of illustrations in children’s books, both in professional circles and in public debate. The DRIN website is constantly being updated with materials, background articles, and workshop documentation in English, German, and Finnish.

The project is co-created by three experts, the Finnish illustrator Warda Ahmed, and the illustrator EL BOUM and author Chantal-Fleur Sandjon, both from Germany. This ensures a multi-perspective approach to decision-making processes.

Projektseite DRIN

Wer: Goethe-Institut Finnland

Wo: Finnland, Deutschland, Norwegen, Niederlande, Irland, Dänemark, Schweden

Wann: 2022

Mit wem:
Finnish Reading Centre
Norsk Barnebokinstituttet
Deutsche Akademie für Kinder- und Jugendliteratur

Rose Stories Netherlands
Powervolle Lesende

Publikation zum DRIN-Projekt

Kinderbücher prägen unser Welt- und Selbstbild langfristig. Es ist daher bedeutsam, sich in Geschichten, Illustrationen und Erzählweisen wiederzufinden und gleichzeitig die Vielfalt an Lebensrealitäten kennenzulernen. Die aktuelle Kinderliteratur in Deutschland und den (nord)europäischen Ländern spiegelt unsere pluralistischen Gesellschaften – dass bspw. 40% der eingeschulten Kinder in Deutschland eine Migrationsgeschichte aufweisen – nicht wider.
Das DRIN-Projekt bringt Akteur*innen – Autor*innen, Illustrator*innen, Bibliothekar*innen, Verlage – international zusammen, um Wissen zu teilen und Netzwerke des Empowerments zu bilden. Es setzt neue Standards für eine diversere Kinderliteratur in Europa und beteiligt eine junge (und mehrsprachige) Leserschaft daran. DRIN stellt sich der Frage nach gleichberechtigter Teilhabe, zeigt die Lücken der Repräsentation im Feld der Kinderliteratur auf und fördert die Mitgestaltung des Buchmarkts durch Autor*innen und Illustrator*innen vielfältiger Perspektiven sowie die Entstehung neuer Materialien für Kinder und Jugendliche. Es sensibilisiert darüber hinaus Verlage, Bibliotheken, Lesefördereinrichtungen und Bildungsbehörden.

DRIN konnte bereits erfolgreich Kreative, Entscheidungstragende und Nutzer*innen erreichen. In der Zukunft werden die Ergebnisse der 2021 veröffentlichten Publikation In Our Own Words in Seminaren und Veranstaltungen von Partnern und Festivals eingesetzt. Das Netzwerk von BIPoC-Akteur*innen wird erweitert und mit laufendem Wissensaustausch gestärkt. Ziel ist, die Umsetzung diversitätssensibler Kriterien in der Erstellung von Kinderbüchern sowie die Kreativen dahinter sichtbar zu machen. Dabei wird eine junge und perspektivenreiche Leserschaft miteinbezogen und diskriminierungskritische Bildung sowie Leseförderung berücksichtigt. Wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse der normkritischen Forschung werden in die Praxis überführt.

DRIN veranstaltet mit seinem Partnernetzwerk internationale Seminare, Webinare, Buchclubs und Workshops. Zentral hierbei ist die Frage nach Sichtweise, Darstellung und Ownership von Illustrationen und Erzählperspektiven sowohl in professionellen Kreisen, als auch in öffentlichen Diskussionsformaten. Auf der Website von DRIN werden Materialien, Hintergrundartikel und Workshop-Dokumentationen auf Englisch, Deutsch und Finnisch fortlaufend erweitert.

Mitgestaltet wird das Projekt von drei Expertinnen, der finnischen Illustratorin Warda Ahmed, der Illustratorin EL BOUM sowie der Autorin Chantal-Fleur Sandjon, beide aus Deutschland, und stellt damit methodisch einen multiperspektivischen Ansatz in den Entscheidungsprozessen sicher.