The stream will start here on 11 Ocotber 2021 at 7:30 pm CEST.

Debate with Sahraa Karimi, Eyal Weizman and Sonia Nandzik

World Premiere: Nothing About Us Without Us, a documentary short film by Refocus Media Labs

With a video call to co-directors Yaser Akbari and Nazanin Foroghi

11 October 2021, 7:30 PM CEST / UT+2 - In English (interpreted simultaneously into German)

Break-Up, the 2021-22 edition of Berliner Korrespondenzen, looks at the tensions and cracks in the social fabric of post-Covid Europe, asking how younger generations organize protest, voice discontent, take responsibility and imagine alternative futures. To really engage with the next generations’ dreams and grievances, each event combines the screening of an exclusive documentary short film by talented filmmakers with intense debates featuring high-profile thinkers, artists and activists.

This edition’s opening event starts with the world premiere of Nothing About Us Without Us by Refocus Media Labs, a collective of refugee filmmakers from Lesvos, Greece. The film asks questions: how can asylum seekers tell their own stories, counter stereotypical media images and shape the political debate in Europe? After the disastrous retreat of the NATO forces from Afghanistan, European politicians quickly resorted to familiar patterns of fearmongering against a possible new movement of refugees. However, the people directly affected and those who have long suffered from EU migration policies had little influence on this political discourse. It seems that little has changed since 2015.

In the ensuing debate, prize-winning Afghan filmmaker and activist Sahraa Karimi, renowned researcher and human rights defender Eyal Weizman and Sonia Nandzik from Refocus Media Labs will discuss how images can influence politics, how we can practice solidarity in times of humanitarian crises and how the subjects of media reports can become the authors of their own stories. In order to not only talk about, but also with those at the heart of the discussions, the film’s co-directors Yaser Akbari and Nazanin Foroghi will be connected via video live from Levos. Circumstances permitting, another member of the collective will be on stage. 

The event will be hybrid – with a live audience at the Maxim Gorki Theater  and a parallel livestream online. For those who cannot connect live, a recording of the discussion and the film will remain available online.

More on the debate series Berliner Korrespondenzen and the accompanying book series.

You can watch previous editions here

© ChanceD, cropped, desaturated, Creative Commons 3.0 - Link
© Ekaterina Izmestieva, cropped, Creative Commons 2.0 - Link

Der Stream wird hier am 11. Oktober 2021 ab 19:30 starten. 

Debatte mit Sahraa Karimi, Eyal Weizman und Sonia Nandzik

Weltpremiere: Nothing About Us Without Us, dokumentarischer Kurzfilm von Refocus Media Labs

Mit einer Videoschalte zu den Ko-Regisseur*innen Yaser Akbari und Nazanin Foroghi

Auf Englisch (mit Simultanübersetzung ins Deutsche)

11. Oktober 2021, 19:30 CEST / UT+2 

Unter dem Titel Break-Up befasst sich die Debattenreihe Berliner Korrespondenzen in der Spielzeit 2021-22 mit Spannungen und Rissen im sozialen Gewebe des post-pandemischen Europas.  Wie organisieren jüngere Generationen Protest, wie zeigen sie ihren Unmut, wie übernehmen sie Verantwortung – und wie stellen sie sich die Zukunft vor? Um mehr über die Träume und Zweifel der Next Generations zu erfahren kombiniert jedes Event das Screening eines exklusiven dokumentarischen Kurzfilms mit intensiven Debatten zwischen hochrangigen Denker*innen, Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen. 

Die Eröffnungsveranstaltung der Reihe beginnt mit der Weltpremiere von Nothing About Us Without Us von Refocus Media Labs, einem Kollektiv geflüchteter junger Filmschaffender auf Lesbos, Griechenland. Ihr Film wirft Fragen auf: Wie können Asylbewerber*innen ihre Geschichten selbst erzählen, wie können Gegenbilder zu medial vermittelten Stereotypen aussehen – und wie können Geflüchtete die politischen Diskussionen in Europa mitgestalten? Nach dem desaströsen NATO-Rückzug aus Afghanistan sind europäische Politiker*innen schnell in altvertraute Muster zurück gefallen und haben Ängste vor möglichen neuen Fluchtbewegungen geschürt. Die unmittelbar Betroffenen und diejenigen, die schon lange unter der rigiden EU-Grenzpolitik leiden hatten dabei wieder einmal wenig Mitspracherecht. Es scheint, als hätte sich nicht viel verändert nach 2015.

In der anschließenden Debatte diskutieren die preisgekrönte afghanische Regisseurin und Aktivistin Sahraa Karimi und der renommierte Wissenschaftler und Menschrechtsverteidiger Eyal Weizman gemeinsam mit Sonia Nandzik von Refocus Media Labs darüber, wie Bilder Politik machen können, wie praktische Solidarität in Zeiten multipler humanitärer Krisen aussehen kann, und wie die Subjekte medialer Berichterstattungen zu Autor*innen ihrer eigenen Geschichten werden können. Um nicht nur über, sondern auch mit denjenigen im Zentrum der Diskussion zu sprechen, werden zwei der Ko-Regisseur*innen des Films, Yaser Akbari und Nazanin Foroghi per Video live aus Lesbos zugeschaltet. Wenn es die Umstände erlauben, werden andere Mitglieder des Filmteams auch auf der Bühne anwesend sein.

Die Veranstaltung ist hybrid – mit Livepublikum im Maxim Gorki Theater  und parallelem Livestream online. Für diejenigen, die nicht dabei sein oder zuschalten können werden eine Aufzeichnung der Veranstaltung sowie der Film online verfügbar bleiben. 

Mehr Infos zu den Berliner Korrespondenzen und zur zugehörigen Publikationsreihe.

Hier können Sie frühere Ausgaben der Berliner Korrespondenzen sehen. 

© ChanceD, cropped, desaturated, Creative Commons 3.0 - Link
© Ekaterina Izmestieva, cropped, Creative Commons 2.0 - Link