© Ute Langkafel MAIFOTO

Where: Berlin, Maxim Gorki Theater

When: ongoing

With: Maxim Gorki Theater, Humboldt Universität, Auswärtiges Amt

Since its inception in 2016, the lecture series Berliner Korrespondenzen at the Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin has been a mainstay in the German Capital’s cultural calendar. 

Each event brings together two cutting-edge thinkers and artists of vastly different biographical and disciplinary backgrounds. In surprising, boundary-pushing constellations, they develop ideas and incentives to find ways out of seemingly desperate situations.

Among the past guests of the Berliner Korrespondenzen are Nobel Laureate in Literature Swetlana Alexijewitsch, winner of the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade Navid Kermani, as well as philosopher Achille Mbembe, constitutional judge Susanne Baer and sociologist Eva Illouz. 

Nationalism, digitalization, migration, climate change: in the face of major challenges, Europe seems to be plagued alternatively by short- and farsightedness. Political Europe remains in the mode of crisis management, shunning a genuine new approach. Cultural Europe on the other hand discusses apocalyptic and utopian visions. It is high time to break out of this double distortion, to cross external and internal perspectives, and seek answers to pressing questions beyond the divisions of politics and culture.

Can Europe still produce impulses for mastering the great challenges of our time? Can algorithms save the climate? What does transcultural identity mean in times of neonationalism? What will the reality of working life look like in the future? And what about a time after Europe?

After dealing with questions of (dis-)orders in a world in political and social upheaval as well as with struggling perceptions on historical narratives in their first two seasons, in 2019/20 the lecture series Berliner Korrespondenzen (Berlin Correspondence) will deal with translocal perspectives on Europe. 

© Ute Langkafel MAIFOTO
© Ute Langkafel MAIFOTO
© Rüdiger Knobloch
Herta Müller/© Stephanie von Becker – Svetlana Alexievich/© Margarita Kabakowa
© Esra Rotthoff
© Esra Rothoff
© Esra Rotthoff
© Esra Rothoff
© Esra Rothoff
© Esra Rothoff
© Esra Rothoff

© Ute Langkafel MAIFOTO

Ort: Berlin, Maxim Gorki Theater

Zeitraum: fortlaufend, seit September 2019

Kooperationspartner: Maxim Gorki Theater, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, Auswärtiges Amt

Die Berliner Korrespondenzen bringen in jeder Veranstaltung zwei herausragende Denker*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Künstler*innen unterschiedlicher biografischer und disziplinärer Hintergründe im Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin zusammen. In überraschenden Konstellationen entwickeln sie quer über Diskursgrenzen hinweg Impulse, um  scheinbar ausweglose Situationen zu bewältigen.

Zu den vergangenen Gästen der Berliner Korrespondenzen zählen u. a. die Literaturnobelpreisträgerin Swetlana Alexijewitsch, der Preisträger des Friedenspreises des Deutschen Buchhandels Navid Kermani, der Philosoph Achille Mbembe, die Verfassungsrichterin Susanne Baer und die Soziologin Eva Illouz.

Nationalismus, Digitalisierung, Migration, Klimawandel: Angesichts großer Themen scheint Europa von doppelter Sehschwäche geplagt. Das politische Europa verharrt im Krisenbearbeitungsmodus und scheut den echten Neuansatz. Das kulturelle Europa verliert sich in apokalyptischen und utopischen Entwürfen. Höchste Zeit, aus den Verzerrungen von Kurz- und Fernsicht auszubrechen, Außen- und Innenperspektive zu kreuzen und neue Blickkonstellationen auf Europa zu werfen. 

Können von Europa noch Impulse ausgehen, wie die großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit zu meistern sind? Können Algorithmen das Klima retten? Was bedeutet transkulturelle Identität in Zeiten des Neonationalismus? Wie kann die Arbeit der Zukunft aussehen? Und wie eine Zeit nach Europa?

Nachdem sich die Berliner Korrespondenzen in ihrer ersten Ausgabe mit Fragen der (Un-) Ordnung einer Welt im politischen und sozialen Umbruch befassten, um anschließend den Fokus auf Wahrnehmungen und historische Narrative zu legen, wird sich die Saison 2019/20 mit translokalen Perspektiven auf Europa beschäftigen. 

© Ute Langkafel MAIFOTO
© Ute Langkafel MAIFOTO
© Rüdiger Knobloch
Herta Müller/© Stephanie von Becker – Swetlana Alexijewitsch/© Margarita Kabakowa
© Esra Rotthoff
© Esra Rotthoff
© Esra Rotthoff
© Esra Rotthoff
© Esra Rotthoff
© Esra Rotthoff
© Esra Rotthoff